Picture taking: Egg on toast

So, I just got a new camera, a Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7 (thanks for the suggestion, Scott!). Now I can take quality pictures of the eggs that I’m cooking and eating. I’m still figuring out all the bells & whistles, but it has this really great “Food” setting, designed for close-ups of well, food.

For a little Saturday morning fun, I decided to take some pictures of my egg on toast breakfast. It’s an incredibly tasty meal that’s easy to pull together, even on mornings when you’re rushing around (which for me, is most mornings).

egg on toast

Toast and butter a slice of bread, which today happened to be light rye. Fry an egg, sunny side up. Then place the egg on the toast and eat. Wash it down with some coffee, and you’ll be ready for the day.

a nice & runny yolk

I always eat this with a knife and fork, and usually sitting in front of the TV. I love the way the yolk mixes with the egg whites and crispy, buttery bread. I’m also impressed with how crisp and clear this photo looks.

all done

It’s quick and satisfying — and clean up is just a small pan, the plate and silverware. Now I’m ready to the start the day and play with my new camera.

Leave a Reply

