Eggcellent Stuff: Easter 2011

hoppy easter

Hope everyone had a great Easter. I made it home for the first time in 11 years. That’s a long time without my family’s traditional eggs and kielbasa brunch, followed by a nice baked ham dinner. Let’s grab a gin & tonic and look at some of the egg-related things that made me happy this past weekend.

Eggcellent Easter activity: Coloring eggs

to dye for

Who doesn’t love PAAS? But here’s my question: what else does PAAS make? And how come we don’t color anything at Christmastime? They should figure that out. My nephew and I colored a dozen hardboiled eggs on Saturday afternoon — but honestly, I think I had more fun than he did. Although he made the really awesome navy blue egg that’s at the top of this post.

Eggcellent Side Dish: My Mom’s potato salad

this side is front and center

Yes, we have potato salad along with our baked ham. (You’ll also notice the roasted asparagus and broccoli.) There’s just something about my mom’s potato salad that makes me so happy. It could be the hardboiled eggs. Or maybe it’s the grated onion. Or the crazy amount of mayonnaise. Whatever it is, this is the salad I dream about all summer long. I’ve made it myself a few times, but it’s never (ever) as good.

Eggcellent Easter candy: Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs

peanut buttery

Forget jelly beans. This is the only Easter candy that really matters. Regular peanut butter cups are okay, but in egg form they just taste so much more amazing. I think it’s the chocolate to peanut butter ratio. I’d want Reese’s to sell these all year long, but then they wouldn’t be so darn special.

What fun Easter and/or egg-related things did you do this weekend?

3 Comments on “Eggcellent Stuff: Easter 2011”

  1. Renee says:

    We had a GREAT time too! What do you mean they’re better than JELLY BEANS??? Maybe they could make Jelly Bean “EGGS” ha, ha, just kidding. Glad you enjoyed all the food.

  2. Caroline says:

    Reese’s eggs are my addiction. Even though they don’t sell the eggs year round, they still have Reese’s trees, hearts, etc. I’m very well versed in the themed reese’s category. 🙂

  3. […] to stay faithful to the recipe I grew up with, I ran out for some red ones. And as I learned at Easter this year, grated onion is the secret ingredient that gives this salad some extra […]


Leave a Reply

