Meet Your New Favorite Cookie

coo-coo for these choco chip cookies

It’s no surprise that I like to cook. But I really love to bake. I haven’t baked in a long time, so while I was waiting for the rain to go away this weekend (sadly, it never did) I decided to fire up the oven.

I’ve wanted to make these chocolate chip cookies since Easter, when I came across this recipe. Instead of using 2 raw eggs you use 2 diced hard boiled eggs. And the dough is mixed in a food processor. Sounds a little weird, right? Wrong. These cookies are pretty awesome. They might even be my new go-to cookie.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
– 2 ¾ cups flour
– 2 sticks of (unsalted) butter, cut into small cubes
– 1 teaspoon of salt
– ½ teaspoon of baking soda
– ¾ cup sugar
– ½ cup light brown sugar
– 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
– 2 hard boiled eggs, peeled & diced — directions below!
– 1 ½ cups mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
– Parchment paper
– 2 baking sheets
– Food processor (I used an 8-cup one)

Start by hard boiling your eggs. Sure, this adds a step, but it’s worth it. Place the eggs in a pot and cover them with cold water. Bring to a boil. Then remove from the heat, cover and let stand for about 15 minutes. Drain, then gently run the eggs under cold water, or place them in an ice bath.

When completely cool, peel the eggs. I roll the egg on a hard surface so the shell cracks and then peel it away. Dice the eggs and set aside.

the super secret / amazing ingredient

Now for the cookies. Preheat your oven to 350º F.

Combine the flour and cubes of butter in the food processor and process until the mixture has formed small crumbs.

Add the salt and baking soda and process until just combined. Next, add the sugars, vanilla and hard boiled eggs. Pulse again until mixture forms into a dough. You might need to use a spoon to prevent the mixture from clumping together. After some time whirling in the food processor, it really does transform from a crumby mixture into dough.

Transfer the dough to a bowl and stir in the chocolate chips. I used mini semi-sweet chips, and I always use less than most recipes because I like more cookie than chocolate. So feel free to add more or less chips, depending on your preference.

Make golf ball-sized balls of cookie dough and place them on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Slightly flatten the balls with the palm of your hand.

Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until lightly browned. Let stand 3 to 5 minutes and then transfer cookies to wire rack to cool completely.

lookie see

As unusual as this recipe may seem, the results are pretty amazing. The dough is incredibly pliable, and unlike regular cookie dough, a lot less sticky. It’s almost like Play-Doh. But waaay tastier.

After they bake, the cookies are soft yet firm. And much to my surprise, they taste very similar to the cookie pieces found in cookie dough ice cream. Maybe this is the big secret that the ice cream companies have been keeping from us for all these years. If it is, I’m happy that I’ve finally discovered it. I think you will be, too.

6 Comments on “Meet Your New Favorite Cookie”

  1. Kim Starkie says:

    I am still a little weary of the hard boiled eggs but you are a baking PRO and I trust your palate, so I am going to give it a try.

  2. Caroline says:

    Hard boiled eggs in cookies!? Genius. These look so fluffy and delicious. Great idea. 🙂

  3. Ohmygoodness! I would’ve never, ever, ever thought of this. I’m going to have to try this as soon as possible because it looks so yummy and fun! Thank you for the recipe.

  4. egg me on says:

    Thanks guys! They’re really soft and doughy. Not something I usually go for (I typically like crispy cookies) but it actually works here. Try it!

  5. […] chip cookie recipe, and I rarely stray away from it.  But, while reading through blogs, I found a new chocolate chip recipe that had a crazy ingredient in it.  The whole time that me and my boyfriend were making these […]

  6. […] okay, you can totally judge. I have hard boiled eggs on many occasions. (There’s proof here & here & here.) I also truly love deviled eggs. I’ve been known to stand next to a […]


Leave a Reply

