Hammy Some Cheese

fluffy, cheesy, hammy

Aren’t Sundays odd? They start out well enough, with the sleeping in and quality programming on Food Network. But as the day goes on, it becomes less and less fun (and I’m not just talking about the reality shows that Food Network airs every Sunday afternoon. Ugh.). I guess, because it’s the last day of the weekend and the workweek starts the next day that anxiety tends to be high.

But I decided to change that this past Sunday. I woke up with a good attitude and set out to be both productive and carefree. My house was way over-due for a cleaning, I promised someone I’d bake and I had some quality TV and reading to catch-up on. So — I needed a hearty breakfast that was full of flavor and could keep me going all day. After a quick peek in my fridge, I found some sliced deli ham, a block of sharp cheddar cheese and eggs. Hmm. I figured an omelet would be perfect.

This is a modified French style omelet, which is normally finished in the oven and then rolled after it bakes. I absolutely love that classic ham and cheese taste, but you could fill it with anything you have on hand. (Some roasted asparagus would be pretty awesome I bet.)

Ham & Cheddar Omelet
– 4 eggs
– 4 tablespoons of heavy cream
– 2 tablespoons of butter (1 tablespoon melted)
– 3 slices of honey ham
– 1 cup of sharp cheddar, cut into small cubes
– Salt & pepper
– Garlic salt (optional)
– Cracked red pepper flakes (optional)
– Dried parsley flakes

Heat your oven to 375º.

In a bowl, whisk together the eggs and cream. Season to taste with salt, pepper, garlic salt and cracked red pepper flakes (I just used a small pinch of the last two). Whisk in the tablespoon of melted butter.

Heat the other tablespoon of butter in a medium non-stick pan on low heat. When lightly melted, add the add mixture. Using a spoon or spatula, stir the eggs and gently cook for about 4 to 5 minutes. You want a mixture that’s like soft custard, or crazy-runny scrambled eggs.

Take the pan off the heat and add the ham slices and cheddar on top of the eggs. Then bake for 8 minutes, or until the eggs are fully cooked and puff up a bit.

Carefully slide the omelet out of the pan and roll it up. This is actually a bit harder than it seems, since you want to make sure not to break the omelet or spill out the ham and cheese. Roll it up as much as you can. (As you can see, I couldn’t get mine to form a very tight roll and I didn’t want to rip the eggs. But a roll and a half seems respectful. After all, it’s not what it looks like but how it tastes, right??)

roll it up

Sprinkle the top of the omelet with additional parsley flakes and eat.

The eggs in this omelet are incredibly fluffy and light. And there’s just something amazing about ham and cheese together. It’s almost like a grilled ham and cheese sandwich. Yet for breakfast. And better. This totally hit the spot and kept me going all day.

So, were The Bangles on to something all those years ago? Is Sunday your fun day — your I don’t have to run day? How do you stop the Sunday blues?

3 Comments on “Hammy Some Cheese”

  1. Not that I ever mess up omelets on the stove, but I’m so trying this next time. They look so creamy!

  2. Casey says:

    Oh my gosh. This looks absolutely perfect!

  3. Caroline says:

    Oh boy does that ever look fluffy and delicious! Couldn’t agree more about the Food Network reality shows–not a fan. What happened to the regular cooking shows? I think asparagus work wonderfully with this, by the way. Clever title too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

