Twice as Spice

dos amigos

Last week I happily came across some chipotle pepper-flavored goat cheese at a local farm. So, for the past so-many days I’ve been thinking (pondering? dreaming? obsessing?) about what I could do what that goat cheese.

mmm

Oh the possibilities!

Aside from just devouring the little log of cheese all by itself, I wanted to make good use of it.

Eggs would obviously be on the menu. Maybe those black beans in the pantry. And then I remembered this amazing chipotle barbecue sauce that I have.

Double chipotle flavor? Is that too much? Am I crazy? Is it wrong? Or so, so very right?

Here we go!

Chipotle Goat Cheese Scrambled Eggs with Spicy, Smoky Black Beans
For the beans:
– 1 15oz can of black beans, drained & rinsed
– ¼ of a white onion, diced
– ½ of a jalapeno, diced
– 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
– Chipotle barbecue sauce
– 2 to 3 tablespoons of butter
– Olive oil

For the eggs:
– 2 large eggs
– Chipotle pepper goat cheese (I used cheese from here)
– Margarine
– Salt and pepper
– Cracked red pepper
– Flour tortillas
– Curly parsley (for garnish)

Start by making the spicy, smoky black beans. In a saucepan, heat a little oil and a tablespoon of butter on medium-low heat. Add the onions and cook until soft. (There’s nothing like the smell of onions cooking to wake you up in the morning!) Add the jalapeno and garlic and cook for another minute or so.

mmm part 2

Then add the black beans and the chipotle barbecue sauce. I added about 2 tablespoons of sauce, along with a little salt. If it looks a little dry or that the beans might stick to the pan, add a little extra butter. Cover and simmer for 5 to 7 minutes. The beans should be cooked but still have a little bite. Leave the cover on and set aside.

Crack the eggs and beat them in a bowl with a fork. Season with salt, pepper and some cracked red pepper. Heat a few tablespoons of margarine (yes, margarine) in a non-stick pan on medium-low heat. When it’s nearly melted, add the eggs and stir — and keep stirring as they cook. When the eggs have nearly set, take the pan off the heat and stir in 1 to 2 tablespoons of chipotle pepper goat cheese. Return the pan to the heat and continue cooking until they’re as firm as you want. I prefer mine soft, so I didn’t keep it on the heat for very long.

When done, spoon the eggs onto a plate along with some of the black beans. Sprinkle some curly parsley on top, and then eat. Instead of toast, I ate these eggs with flour tortillas that I lightly warmed.

spicy smoky sunday special

This entire breakfast was spicy, smoky and satisfying. It really hit the spot. The eggs were creamy, and the tangy yet subtly spicy goat cheese really stood out. And the beans! They were amazing. Smoky. Spicy. Hearty. And because there were some left, I got to enjoy them with my dinner. I’m definitely going to make these again.

3 Comments on “Twice as Spice”

  1. What a great plate! Love everything about it. I actually have thought of you a few times recently, have made a few egg dishes and thought I know who might like these. (Or make them even better, but I’ll just ignore that bit!)

  2. Caroline says:

    You’re so right–we were definitely on the same page this weekend! I’m all about double the chipotle flavor, not wrong at all! 🙂


Leave a Reply

