Go Fudge Yourself

hands off

I’ve been compulsively craving brownies for a few weeks now. I’m not really sure why. But I finally broke down and made some last night, my first time doing so from scratch.

When it was 90º and humid, mind you. And that was just inside my house.

These are things we do for food, I suppose.

After searching for a recipe that satisfied all my requirements (chocolate-y, chewy/fudgy consistency, relatively easy) I stumbled upon this Martha Stewart recipe, appropriately titled, Fudgy Brownies.

Now, I don’t know how you feel about Martha. Sure, she’s a little too perfect. She’s sold her brand and image to every store on the planet. She’s smug. But the woman certainly knows a thing or two about baking. So, why the hell not?

Full disclosure: I did kinda sorta feel like I was cheating on the Barefoot Contessa with this one. All these years I’ve been pretty loyal to Ina. Maybe it’s my fondness for her meatloaf. Or her roast chicken. Or her house in the Hamptons. Or, that I’ve always had a thing for brunettes. Oh well.

Again, these are things we do for food. Anyone who disagrees with me can … um, go fudge themselves.

Fudgy Brownies
– 2 sticks of unsalted butter, plus a little more for the baking pan
– 12 ounces of semisweet chocolate (I used Hershey’s semisweet chips)
– 1 ¼ cups of light brown sugar
– 4 large eggs
– 2/3 cups of flour
– ½ teaspoon of salt
– 1 tablespoon of vanilla
– Cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s unsweetened), enough to dust the baking pan

Heat your oven to 375º.

Grease a baking pan with butter and lightly dust it with cocoa powder. Make sure to cover all the sides, and tap out the excess. Set aside.

a little martha secret — cocoa powder in the pan

In a heatproof bowl over of a pot of simmering water, melt the chocolate and the butter. (You could also use a double boiler if you have one.) When fully melted and combined, remove from heat and let it cool completely. Since it was so darn hot in my house, I stuck the bowl in the fridge for a while.

i could have eaten it just like this

Next, combine the flour and salt in small bowl and set aside.

Then in a large bowl, beat the eggs and brown sugar on high until pale, about 3 minutes. (Martha prefers a stand mix, but I did quite well with my trusty hand mixer.) Reduce speed, and beat in chocolate mixture and the vanilla. Add the flour mixture and beat until just combined.

Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking dish. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until the top has cracked, the center is firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool completely in the baking dish on a wire rack. Then cut into square …

torture is waiting for brownies to cool

AND EAT.

maybe i'll share some

3 Comments on “Go Fudge Yourself”

  1. coreyolo says:

    You are clearly pregnant and craving chocolate! Duh.

  2. They look great to me. I love the coco powder trick.

  3. Caroline says:

    Definitely something we do for food. Worth it! These look awesome.


Leave a Reply

