Lemon Burst


ta-da

Did you know Saturday was National Cheesecake Day? I’m serious. Look it up.

I celebrated by making these lemony blueberry treats. I got to dig out the ol’ food processor, too. Which is a plus, because I feel bad that I’m not using it enough.

I’ve always had a special place in my heart for cheesecake. If you know me at all, you probably know where I’m headed.

Yep.

The Golden Girls.

Doesn’t everything go back to 80’s television? What did the girls always eat during their late night chitchats? That’s right.

I do find it a little strange that National Cheesecake Day is in July, which is also National Ice Cream Month and National Grilling Month, but I’ll get over it. Because really, who am I to judge? These super-easy bars will make it better.

Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake Bars
For the crust:
– 9 graham crackers
– Sprinkle of sugar
– ½ stick of melted butter, plus a little more to grease the pan
– Parchment paper
– 10×7 baking dish (or whatever size you have)

For the filling:
– 16 oz of cream cheese, at room temperature
– 2 large lemons, zested and juiced
– 2 large eggs
– ½ cup of sugar
– ½ teaspoon of vanilla
– Pinch of salt
– ½ pint of blueberries (or more depending on your dish)

Heat your oven to 325º.

Grease the bottom of the baking dish and then line it with parchment paper. Some paper should hang over the sides. Set aside.

In a food processor, pulse the graham crackers until crumbly. Add a sprinkle of sugar and pulse again. Add the melted butter and continue to process until it’s well incorporated. Pour the graham cracker mixture into the baking dish and flatten it out with your hand. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown. Let it cool completely.

(While the crust is baking, give your food processor a quick wash.)

such an easy process

When you’re ready to the make the filling, add everything except the blueberries to the food processor — cream cheese, eggs, lemon zest & juice, sugar, a splash of vanilla and a pinch of salt — and process until smooth. Pour the mixture into the cooled crust. Top with the blueberries. They will only sink about halfway.

polka dots taste good

Bake for 35 minutes. The center should jiggle slightly. Let it cool completely and then refrigerate it for at least 3 hours. Pull the cake out with the parchment paper and cut into bars. Then eat.

i think the girls would approve

These bars were amazing. The cheesecake is creamy and smooth. There’s a burst of lemon in every bite. And the blueberries add the right amount of sweetness. And, it reminds me a lot of the classic Jell-O No-Bake Cheesecake I used to eat as a kid, which only makes it more awesome in my book. Honestly, I’d gather around the table with just about anyone to eat this.

4 Comments on “Lemon Burst”

  1. Caroline says:

    Look at those berries! They look so plump and fresh. I just mentioned on Greg’s post today, but blueberry and lemon is one of my favorite combos. Sweet and tart–can’t go wrong! Awesome job. I can’t keep track of these national food days either. Maybe tomorrow is national pickle day. Who knows.

  2. Renee says:

    This sounds so good and is really easy. I’m gonna have to make it and only put the blueberries on half, as someone else I know who loves cheesecake won’t eat the blueberries.

  3. Ha, ha. You like the Golden Girls. You must atone with a very manly recipe. This looks awesome in the meantime.

  4. Emily says:

    This looks so good! I’ve always secretly liked the Golden Girls too, although when I used to watch it with my mom when I was young I could never understand why Blanche kept the whipped cream in her bedroom. 😉


Leave a Reply

