Spice Up Your Life

guess what -- i love it

Remember those zucchinis I got from the farmer’s market a few days ago? Rather than let them go to waste, I decided to turn them into something else.

thanks mom!

But what to do? What. To. Do. That’s what I thought to myself.

Then I glanced over at this new Pyrex loaf pan my mom sent me a few weeks ago. (Thanks again, Mom!)

Hmm. Maybe some bread. Maybe some … zucchini bread?

It’s been such a long time since I’ve had zucchini bread. So long in fact, that I was sure I didn’t like it. Always been a huge fan of banana bread. But zucchini bread? I don’t know about this. That’s also what I thought to myself.

Well, I was totally wrong. That’s what I’m saying to you.

Zucchini Bread
– ¼ cup of unsalted butter, room temperature + more for greasing pan
– ¼ cup of vegetable oil
– ½ cup of brown sugar
– ½ cup of sugar
– 1½ cup of flour
– 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
– Pinch of nutmeg
– ½ teaspoon of baking soda
– 1 teaspoon of baking powder
– ½ teaspoon of salt
– 1 egg
– 1¾ cup of shredded zucchini
– ½ teaspoon of lemon zest
– 2 tablespoons of finely grated walnuts
– 8 ½” x 4 ½” x 2 ½” loaf pan

Heat your oven to 350º.

You can use a box grater to shred the zucchini, but if your food processor has a shredding blade (like mine) it’ll be much easier. I also used that amazing (and amazingly sharp) blade to finely grate the walnuts.

the shredder

Grease the loaf pan with butter and set aside.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, spices, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, oil and sugars until smooth. Add the egg and mix until well incorporated. Add the flour mixture a little at time and mix until the batter is smooth.

Drain a little liquid from the shredded zucchini. Fold the zucchini, walnuts and lemon zest into the batter with a spoon.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 55 to 60 minutes until golden brown. A toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean.

Let the bread cool for about 10 minutes on a wire rack. Slice, top with butter, jelly, what-have-you, and eat.

take a loaf off

The original recipe called for 1 cup of brown sugar, but at the last minute I realized I didn’t have enough. So rather than run to the store, I used ½ cup of brown sugar and ½ cup of regular white sugar. Luckily, the finished bread had the right amount of sweetness. I normally don’t like nuts in bread, but since I finely grated the walnuts in my food processor I didn’t have to deal with huge chunks.

I slathered my slice with margarine when it was still a tad warm. It was so flavorful and spicy, but not in a spicy-hot kind of way. More like a spicy cinnamon kind of way, much like a carrot cake. I love the way there are little green and yellow specks throughout the bread, too.

speckled with flavor

So, I guess I forgot how much I really like zucchini bread. I’m glad I remembered. And that I’m telling you.

4 Comments on “Spice Up Your Life”

  1. Renee says:

    This recipe is GREAT, I have one from years back but I like this one better.

  2. I love that thick slab you cut and the butter. Great recipe.

  3. Caroline says:

    Now that’s an awesome Pyrex loaf pan! Moms never stop spoiling their children. Zucchini bread is one of my absolute favorites, even more so than banana bread, etc. Sounds delicious.

  4. Nothing beats a good loaf of zucchini bread..YUM


Leave a Reply

