Fancy Schmancy

go on, treat yourself

Can something made with mayonnaise be fancy? A little fancy? Who cares as long as it tastes awesome, right?

Like my version of egg salad. It’s not frou-frou or highfalutin. But it’s got a lot of flavor and it’ll definitely put a smile on your face. So in my book that makes it pretty special. Fancy, even.

It’s got the main ingredients of the classic recipe everybody knows, but I added a few things to make it a little bit more me. A tangy bit of Dijon mustard. Chives on top. And of course, bacon. It’s also super simple to make.

Egg Salad
– 4 hard boiled eggs
– 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise
– 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
– Salt and pepper
– Chives
– 2 slices of bacon, crumbled
– French bread (or similar), cut into slices

Start by hard boiling the eggs. Put them in a medium-sized pot and cover ’em with cold water. Bring to a roiling boil and then remove the pot from the heat, pop the lid on top and let it stand for 15 minutes. Rinse the eggs in cold water and let them cool completely before peeling. (They’ll cool faster in the fridge.)

the makings for something special

Roughly chop the eggs into chunks. Place them in a shallow bowl. Add the mayo, a squirt of Dijon mustard and season to taste with salt and pepper. Using a fork, mash everything together. Refrigerate until ready to use.

To make mini open-faced egg salad sandwiches:

Fry a few slices of bacon until crisp. Let them cool and then crumble. Lightly toast 4 slices of French bread. Top each slice with a spoonful of egg salad. Sprinkle with chives and bacon crumbles. Then eat.

bacon makes it better

These mini open-faced sandwiches really make me happy. So flavorful and creamy. The Dijon adds a vinegary kick and the chives give it a little oniony bite. (I don’t mix the chives into the salad because I don’t want the onion to overpower everything. But feel free to do it yourself.) And the bacon … well, it adds that salty kick that makes eggs taste even better. How’s that for fancy?

7 Comments on “Fancy Schmancy”

  1. Bacon makes everything better. I like the fancy presentation! Open face egg salad sandwiches, very cool.

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks! I don’t usually do open-faced sandwiches, but I thought I’d switch it up for this one. Worked out great.

  2. coreyolo says:

    Now I’m making egg salad for lunch…you and your delicious blog…

  3. Caroline says:

    Fancy indeed…looks awesome! Bacon and chives are a great addition. I’m not a huge mayonnaise fan anymore…well, actually I lied, because if it’s in aioli form I can’t get enough. As in last night when I went to dinner with some friends and we each had our own side of garlic aioli. 🙂

  4. […] you can totally judge. I have hard boiled eggs on many occasions. (There’s proof here & here & here.) I also truly love deviled eggs. I’ve been known to stand next to a plate of them […]


Leave a Reply

