A Toffeely Good Experiment

mad good

While making myself a breakfast sandwich last week I was struck with inspiration. Or rather, my taste buds were. It probably had something to do with the bacon I was frying up.

I already had these Heath toffee chips that I was going to add to peanut butter cookies. But I thought I’d get all mad scientist-y and just throw a whole bunch of stuff in there. So that’s what I did. Peanut butter. Milk chocolate and toffee bits. Bacon. My experiment would either end up really, really good … or turn into a complete monster.

Happily, nobody stormed my castle (ie: my desk) with fiery torches. Instead, they couldn’t get their hands on my little creations fast enough.

Toffee & Bacon Peanut Butter Cookies
– 1 ½ cups of flour
– ¾ teaspoon of baking soda
– ¾ teaspoon of salt
– ½ cup of vegetable shortening
– ¾ creamy peanut butter
– 1 ¼ cups of light brown sugar
– 3 tablespoons of milk
– 1 tablespoon of vanilla
– 1 egg
– 1 cup + 1/3 cup of Heath milk chocolate toffee bits
– ¼ cup of crumbled bacon (about 4 slices)

Heat your oven to 375º.

In a bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Beat the shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in a large bowl. Add the egg and beat until just blended. Add the flour mixture a little at a time and mix until well blended. Stir in a cup of the toffee bits and the crumbled bacon.

Using a spoon, grab a heaping teaspoon of dough and then roll into a ball. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Continue adding balls of dough to the pan, placed about 2 inches apart. Flatten balls of dough with the bottom of a glass and sprinkle some of the remaining chocolate and toffee bits on top.

they're alive!

Bake for 8 minutes. Let the cookies cool for 2 minutes then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely. Then eat.

Obviously, you can leave out the bacon if you’re not into salty pork or strange little cookie creations.

5 Comments on “A Toffeely Good Experiment”

  1. Renee says:

    They really sound Yummy, will definately try.

  2. awesome! have to try those!

  3. I have to say this is genius! Love the title too.

  4. Caroline says:

    I could never say no to something with bacon…especially when it’s in a cookie. Great idea, these sound delicious! Sweet and savory–perfect.

  5. Never tried bacon in cookies before… but it’s bacon – It’s must be good. They do look really amazing. Thanks so much for enlightening me!


Leave a Reply

