Sunday Supper, Part 2: Cheddar Dinner Rolls

on a roll

Part 2 of my Sunday Supper extravaganza are these cheesy dinner rolls. Well, they’re really more like muffins.

Okay, actually — they’re a lot like the cheddar biscuits from Red Lobster.

Yes, I know. Red Lobster. But don’t judge. I grew up in North Texas and that was the closest thing we had to a real seafood restaurant. And honestly, if you’ve ever had their cheddar biscuits fresh from the oven, you know how awesome they are.

In this recipe, cheddar, Parmesan, scallions and cayenne turn what could otherwise be a sweet muffin into a savory roll. They’re not dry or crumbly, but are instead light, fluffy and full of flavor. They were perfect for sopping up my mushroom gravy, too.

Cheddar Dinner Rolls
– 3 cups of flour
– 1 tablespoon of baking powder
– 1 teaspoon of salt
– ¼ teaspoon of cayenne pepper
– ¼ teaspoon of pepper
– 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar
– 2 scallions, chopped
– 1 ¼ cups of whole milk
– 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter, melted
– 1 large egg
– ¾ cup of sour cream
– ½ cup of grated Parmesan
– Cooking spray
– Muffin pan

Heat your oven to 350º.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cayenne pepper and pepper. Stir in the cheddar and scallions, making sure the cheese doesn’t clump together but is coated with flour.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, butter, egg and sour cream. Using a rubber spatula, fold the wet ingredients into the flour mixture until just combined. Divide the batter among a muffin pan that has been lightly greased with cooking spray. Sprinkle each roll with Parmesan.

Bake until light golden, about 25 to 30 minutes. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack. Serve warm.

stash some for yourself (you won't want to share)

7 Comments on “Sunday Supper, Part 2: Cheddar Dinner Rolls”

  1. Danni says:

    Yummy! I love red lobster’s biscuit! I will be trying these this weekend ^_^

  2. Caroline says:

    Cheesy anything and I’m in. These look great! I won’t judge about the Red Lobster reference (I grew up in Ohio). That restaurant was everywhere. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten there though. I was pretty young when we lived in Ohio and at the time, literally all I would eat were chicken tenders. I had a very adventurous palate, as you can see. 🙂

  3. People love those muffins at Red Lobster. I haven’t eaten at one in years, but you always hear about those muffins. I love this recipe. Sour cream does wonders for dough. I also love the green onions!

    • egg me on says:

      I think the sour cream (and the whole milk) really helped these stay moist. People thought there were going to be dry and crumbly, but they weren’t. The onions add some nice flavor. I’m thinking next time I’m going to add more cayenne … maybe even some bits of jalapeno.

  4. […] to make a quiche for brunch. Or an easy potato side dish to go with your ham. Or some delicious cheesy rolls. And yes, everyone’s favorite, deviled […]


Leave a Reply

