Apple (Cookie) of My Eye

cookie or cake: how do you like your apples?

Last weekend I visited my cousin Kevin, his wife Wendy and their little rockstar, Nathan. (Seriously. The kid knows the words to every song on the radio.) On Sunday, we went to a local farm and got apples, pumpkins and apple cider slushies. Afterwards, Wendy & I had an apple bake-off.

If felt odd using someone else’s kitchen. Like I was cheating on my own. I’m sorry, kitchen.

Anyways. During this challenge, I made these apple oatmeal cookies. I found a recipe for apple cookies online but put my own spin on them, mostly by swapping the shortening for butter, using 1 honeycrisp apple instead of just a cup, and adding oatmeal. Some good, old fashioned baking oatmeal. (wink)

The cookies were really easy to make, and came out soft and chewy, almost like a combination of a cookie, cake and muffin. We thought that chocolate chips might be a nice addition. Or nuts. We also had the crazy idea of scooping vanilla ice cream between two cookies to make amazing apple oatmeal cookiewiches. Mmm. Definitely next time.

Apple Oatmeal Cookies
– 2 cups of flour
– 1 teaspoon of baking soda
– ½ teaspoon of salt
– 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
– ¼ teaspoon of nutmeg
– ¼ teaspoon of allspice
– ½ cup (1 stick) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
– 1 1/3 cups of brown sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 apple, peeled, cored and finely diced
– 1 cup of quick oats
– Cooking spray

Heat your oven to 400º.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar. Beat in the egg and mix thoroughly.

Using a spoon, stir half of the flour mixture into the sugar mixture. Next, stir in the oatmeal and apples, and then add the remaining flour mixture. Mix well.

Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden. Let them cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Then eat!

check out those chunks of apple

Apple Bake-Off 2011!

Our challenge was to make something with the honeycrisp apples we got from the farm. So, while Kevin, Nathan & I played with the leaves in the backyard, Wendy made a cake with apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and other good stuff. It was moist and brimming with cinnamon flavor. It was great at room temperature and great right out of the fridge the next morning, so this cake works as both a dessert and a breakfast. (Apologies for not having her recipe; maybe it’ll show up in a later post.)

the judge's plate

We didn’t have too many judges on hand, and decided that Kevin (my very awesome cousin!) couldn’t be impartial. So we let Nathan, a very picky 2 1/2 year old, decide which apple treat was best. Not sure if that was any better, but he did try both of them. He actually liked my apple oatmeal cookies, but then a piece of cake was put on his plate and he switched to that. Well, until he actually got a chunk of apple and then he didn’t like either of them anymore. Oh, toddlers. It’s like they have a mind of their own!

So the winner of the Apple Bake-Off 2011?? Let’s call it a draw. For now. And enjoy this picture of our lil’ judge picking out his pumpkin. Happy Autumn, people!

in the pumpkin patch

9 Comments on “Apple (Cookie) of My Eye”

  1. Whatever, you totally won. But hey could you please put that tasty cake recipe up soon, like yesterday, um no reason.

  2. Renee says:

    These sound really good, hope I can find a good apple for them here in Texas. New York State has a really good selection. Cute picture picking out a pumpkin.

  3. Caroline says:

    I’m actually going apple picking in Julian mid-November, I can’t wait. Last time I went there with friends, I thought I was going to be car sick so we never made it up the mountain. Woops! Anyways, the cookie and cake looks awesome. Looks like I need to start whipping up some more apple recipes as well.

    • egg me on says:

      November! Doesn’t that seem so far away? But I’m sure you’ll whip up something good. I seriously need to step up my pumpkin game though!

  4. I don’t know what I want more: the cookies, the apple cider slushie, or the pumpkin lager. P.S. Adorable toddler!

    • egg me on says:

      The slushies were good — I should have snapped a picture. And the pumpkin beer was really good! (I’m pretty sure there wasn’t any left after the meal.)

  5. […] the cookies, I modified my apple oatmeal cookie recipe. I nixed the nutmeg and allspice, used just a sprinkling of cinnamon and added a teaspoon of […]


Leave a Reply

