Hot Off the Griddle

apples & cinnamon & bacon — oh my!

During my vacation last month, we went to this awesome pancake parlor and had some of the bet pancakes ever. We went twice that week — they were that good.

So, ever since then I’ve been dreaming about pancakes. Hot and fluffy pancakes. Flapjacks. Hotcakes …

Remember those hotcakes McDonald’s had in the 80s? They came in a gigantic Styrofoam container-plate thing. Do they still sell those? My 8 year old self really liked them. I don’t think my 32 year old self would.

Luckily, these apple pancakes are nothing like those Mickey D’s hotcakes. At least I hope not. They’re fluffy, cinnamon-y and filled with sweet bits of apple. Go fall!

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes
– 1 ½ cups of flour
– 3 tablespoons of sugar
– 2 teaspoons of baking powder
– Pinch of salt
– 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
– 1 cup of milk
– 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter, melted
– 2 eggs, beaten
– 1 vanilla bean, inside paste removed (or ½ tablespoon of extract)
– 1 apple, peeled & finely diced
– Additional butter (for the griddle)
– Maple syrup

Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, combine the milk, melted butter, beaten eggs, vanilla bean paste, eggs and apples. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until well combined.

Heat your griddle on medium heat. Add a dab of butter to the hot griddle and then add large spoonfuls of batter. A ladle works well for this, so does a dry measuring cup. (For some reason I used the 1/3 cup the day I made these.) Cook until bubbles begin to appear on the top, about 2 minutes, then flip and cook until the center is cooked and the outside is golden. Repeat with the remaining batter.

a nice short stack

Serve pancakes warm and top with maple syrup. And possibly some slices of thick-cut bacon on the side. Why does bacon (and sausage links for that matter) taste so great with syrup? There’s just something about the salty meat and sweet syrup. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

is your mouth watering yet?

8 Comments on “Hot Off the Griddle”

  1. Good lord, you have left my mouth watering and I already ate breakfast this morning! I am definitely trying this recipe for my kiddos…thanks for the visual stimulation on this Monday!!

    K.

    http://www.vodkaandmotherhood.com

    • egg me on says:

      Glad you like it! Hope your kids like ’em. They might even be good on those mornings when you make up a little bleary eyed. 😉

  2. Caroline says:

    Oh man, my mouth is watering too. These pancakes sound awesome. I love the sweet/savory combo. Yeah, these are much, MUCH better than Mickey D’s version!

  3. Well anything with bacon on top is up my alley. These look awesome.

  4. This sounds incredibly delicious – bacon and pancakes, what a perfect breakfast!

  5. I have been dreaming of a plate like this all week: Must make myself a selfish stack of these soon. And the bacon… !!! Lots of that, too.

  6. Sounds like the ideal type of pancakes for this time of year and perfection is always achieved with a piece of bacon on top. Well done!

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

