Backyard Fresh Eggs

check these out

Here’s something really exciting. See those eggs in the picture above? They’re extra, extra special. Why, you ask?

Because they came out of a chicken on Monday, were given to me on Tuesday, and went into my belly on Wednesday.

Have you ever heard of anything so crazy?

My friend Laurie and her family got 4 chicks in the spring. They nurtured them, built them a coop, and gave them names like Little Jerry Seinfeld and Baba Cheese Junior. And a few weeks ago some magic happened. They (finally) started laying eggs.

And then she (generously) gave me two backyard fresh, totally organic eggs to try. I was thrilled!

The first thing I noticed was their size. They’re a lot smaller than a typical egg found at the grocery story. But these aren’t typical eggs, right? What was inside totally blew me away:

nice yolk!

The yolk was the roundest yolk I have ever seen. And so golden! There was also a lot less white stuff, too.

Since I wanted to taste the goodness of this egg without any other flavors getting in the way, I quickly threw out using it to bake with. Or even pairing it with bacon and some toast.

Nope, I just cooked it sunny side up in some all-natural cooking spray, then sprinkled just the slightest amount of pepper on top.

all you really need

I don’t know if it was my sheer excitement or the fact that I was eating an egg on a weekday morning (sidebar: I’ve been limiting my egg intake to weekends only), but the egg was fantastic. The yolk kept that beautiful shape. And when I split it open:

golden goodness

Pure, golden heaven. The yolk was so thick and creamy. It probably would have tasted awesome on a hot piece of bread, but, oh well. I happily ate it up all by itself.

If I could eat eggs like this every day, I would be ecstatic. Eggstatic? So I think Laurie & her family are pretty lucky. And I hope she gives me more of her backyard bounty soon. Very, very soon.

10 Comments on “Backyard Fresh Eggs”

  1. Bailey says:

    pure joy right there. one of my favorite things.

  2. That egg is so perfectly cooked. Our city has a chicken ordinance, but we could still have a few if it weren’t for having dogs. Here’s how it would go at our house: They’d come off a farm on Monday, into our yard on Tuesday, and into our dog’s bellies on Wednesday.

  3. Collin says:

    Glad you enjoyed the eggs. I felt the same way the first time I tried them (I’m Laurie’s husband aka, the Egg Man). However, they were still warm from the chicken when I fried them up and I DID put them on toast. Pure heaven. I’m sure you’ll get more soon. Now that you’re hooked I’ll meet you around the corner and bring the eggs. You bring the money.

    KooKooKaJoob

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks, Egg Man! You totally got me hooked. You got to eat eggs STILL WARM from the chicken?! That’s bonkers. Also, if you’re the Egg Man, does that make me the Walrus?

      • Collin says:

        Well, being the walrus sure would be better than yellow matter custard dripping from a dead dog’s eye. Sure. You can be the walrus if you think you can handle the responsibility.

        I meant to comment on how nicely cooked that over easy egg looked. Here’s a trick I learned from a Frenchman. I was skeptical until I tried it. Now I’m hooked. Heat a pan on medium low heat like you would to fry an egg. Melt a little butter then crack in an egg. Immediately add. About a quarter cup of water around said egg, sprinkle with salt and pepper, then cover with a lid. If you have a clear lid this is best. Remove the egg immediately when the yolk starts to turn cloudy on the surface. I think this technique is called a “glass egg.” it’s sort of a fried meets poached affair. Let me know what you think. E.M.

      • egg me on says:

        Umm … GREAT IDEA. Tried it, ate it, loved it. You were totally right — it’s the best of fried and poached all in one. (And I had some bacon with it this time. I couldn’t resist.) Totally up for the challenge of being the walrus, too. Thanks!

  4. Laurie says:

    Mmm…warm eggs fresh from the ovum.

  5. Caroline says:

    I think you made the right decision to eat the egg as plain as possible. I’m sure the flavor was amazing. Something so much better about food that fresh. What a sweet friend to let you try these gorgeous eggs!

  6. There’s really nothing like a farm fresh egg; you’ve got some good friends, lucky! On another note: I’m a total Seinfeld nerd, so the “little jerry seinfeld” part had me rolling – hilarious episode.


Leave a Reply

