My Goodness, My Guinness Chicken

one comforting plate

So, more snow happened. Enough to stick to the ground this time. So, more comfort food was in order.

I love chicken, and I’m always looking for new chicken recipes. This beer-braised chicken caught my eye a few months ago. I’ve modified it a bit, using onions instead of fennel. (A licorice-flavored veggie? Yuck.) But I’ve kept everything else the same: a whole chicken (that’s breasts, legs and thighs) that’s been roasted in beer inside a heavy Dutch oven. In the end, the chicken is tender, flavorful, and oh-so-succulent. It’s the very definition of comfort food.

Guinness-Braised Chicken
– 3 slices of bacon, diced
– 1 whole chicken, cleaned & quartered
– 2 good-sized white onions, halved & sliced
– 1 bottle of Guinness (or any dry stout)
– 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
– Salt & pepper

Heat your oven to 400º.

In a Dutch oven, cook the diced bacon until crispy. Place the bacon on a paper towel-lined plate and set aside.

Clean and dry the chicken pieces. Make sure it’s really dry. Season it on all sides with salt and pepper. On medium-heat high heat, sear the chicken on all sides, starting skin-side down, until the outside is brown and crispy. Remove the chicken and set aside.

Add the onions to the Dutch oven, season with salt and pepper, and cook until soft and caramelized, about 10 minutes or so. If the onion starts to burn, add a little water. Next pour in the bottle of beer and give it a good stir so all of the bits on the bottom and sides are released. Then bring it down to a simmer. Nestle the chicken (juices and all), skin-side down, in the onions and beer. Cover and transfer to the oven. Roast for 45 minutes, flipping the chicken after 20 minutes.

Remove the Dutch oven from the (real) oven and put over low heat. Place the chicken on a platter or large plate and cover with foil. Add the apple cider vinegar to the onions and beer, cover and simmer until the sauce thickens a little, about 5 minutes. Pour the sauce over the chicken, top with the diced bacon and eat.

cluckin' good

For a fancy-ish dinner, serve the chicken over mashed potatoes, like the one I made from baby red bliss potatoes. And I washed it down with another Guinness, because you know, why not?

4 Comments on “My Goodness, My Guinness Chicken”

  1. I like fennel, but you can’t go wrong with onions. This looks awesome.

  2. Caroline says:

    Ick, I loathe fennel. If I have an everything bagel, I literally pick the seeds off. Same goes for crostini, etc. The flavor is just to strong for me, so I’m all about your substitution of onions. This chicken is the ultimate comfort food, you’re right. Jealous that you got snow!!

  3. Anything involving chicken, bacon, and a bottle of beer getting together is A-OK in my books! Sounds like the perfect meal to cozy up with on a snowy night.

  4. […] another recipe that includes Guinness? Try this braised chicken. Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

