Chop-Chops!

craving complete

My cravings usually inspire (dictate?) what I cook. Because it’s hard to ignore that hunger (no pun intended) for something, especially after it’s been dancing through my head for a while.

When I was craving brownies, I made fudgy ones. I couldn’t stop dreaming about fluffy pancakes, so I made these. And this past week, I had a super craving for pork chops. It didn’t help that I kept running into them all over the place, like here.

I grew up eating pork chops that were breaded and then baked. They’d be crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Over the last so-many years I’ve been trying a lot of different recipes. Breaded, not bread. Fried. Baked. Bone-in vs. boneless. But for this particular craving I wanted to try something new. So this rustic dish that combines boneless chops with the distinctive flavors of apples, red onions and sage seemed right up my alley. It’s also easy to make so you can satisfy your own pork cravings pretty quickly.

Pork Chops with Apples and Onions
– 3 to 4 boneless pork loin chops
– 2 teaspoons of freshly chopped sage
– 1 large red onion, cut into wedges
– 1 Granny Smith apple, diced
– 4 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
– 2 tablespoons of white wine
– Olive oil
– Salt and pepper
– Cast iron skillet

Rub both sides of the pork chops with the sage and season with salt and pepper to taste. Heat a large cast iron skillet over high heat, and then add a tablespoon of oil and sear the chops until golden on both sides. Transfer them to a plate. Wipe the skillet and add a few more tablespoons of oil. Add the onion and apple and cook over medium-high heat until lightly brown, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, add the apple cider vinegar, and cook another 3 minutes.

Return the chops and any juice to the skillet. Cover and cook, turning the chops over once, until cooked through, about 5 minutes. Remove the chops again, stir in the white wine (this should help pick up any apples and onions stuck to the skillet) and let it cook another minute. Remove the skillet from the heat and serve the chops over the apples and onions.

juicy pork and veggies

I was surprised at how tender and juicy the pork chops came out, especially since they were fairly thick. The onions and apples were flavorful, and had a slightly tart bite. I paired my chops with maple roasted sweet potatoes (a very seasonal side dish!), which complemented them perfectly. I’ll post that recipe in a few days so keep your eyes out.

4 Comments on “Chop-Chops!”

  1. That’s my kind of meal. That first shot had me drooling! Thanks for the shout out.

  2. The only thing that would put this dish beyond 100% delicious would be more pork…meaning bacon!


Leave a Reply

