One Sweet Side

you'll want to make more than this

Yesterday I wrote about my craving for pork chops. (Mmm … pork chops.) But even the juiciest pork chop needs a good side dish.

Moving down my autumnal foods check list, I landed on sweet potatoes, those starchy orange veggies that are just as good fried as they are mashed. So why not roasted?

And with Thanksgiving fast approaching, I’ve been thinking about what I could add to my family’s meal. These maple roasted sweet potatoes just might make the cut. They’re sooo flavorful, mixing sweet and savory. It’s a really easy side dish that also seems a tad fancy, so it would be perfect for a holiday celebration. You can impress people without stressing out in the kitchen.

Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes
– 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled & cubed
– 3 tablespoons of maple syrup
– ¼ cup of olive oil
– 2 shallots, thinly sliced
– 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar
– Salt and pepper

Heat your oven to 400º.

In a medium bowl, mix the cubed sweet potatoes with 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 teaspoons of salt and 1 teaspoon of pepper. Arrange in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Roast until golden and soft, 25 to 30 minutes. Stir after 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large pan, heat some olive oil over medium heat. Add the shallots and cook until they start to caramelize, about 5 minutes. Add the remaining tablespoon of maple syrup and balsamic vinegar, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Lower the heat and cook until golden brown and caramelized, about 5 more minutes.

Remove the pan from the heat and gently stir in the roasted sweet potatoes. Serve warm.

I knew adding the maple syrup would give the potatoes an extra-sweet kick, but I wasn’t sure how the shallots and balsamic vinegar were going to taste. Well, it all turned out fantastic. I only used 2 sweet potatoes for this recipe, but you could easily roast more and up the other ingredients if you’re feeding a big group. You’ll probably want to make more than you think you’ll need — people will want seconds and thirds, I promise.

4 Comments on “One Sweet Side”

  1. RileysMom says:

    These look amazing! I’ll be trying these soon.

  2. Caroline says:

    I can imagine the maple syrup and balsamic complimenting each other wonderfully in this dish. These potatoes sound awesome! I would definitely need to make a larger portion because I’m pretty sure I could eat that entire bowl in one sitting.

  3. I love balsamic with sweet potatoes. Great recipe.


Leave a Reply

