Craisin-ly Good Cookies

crazy good

I’ve recently discovered these things called Craisins.

I know, I’m probably 15 years behind everyone else.

But if you’re not familiar with them, picture a tiny, shriveled, deep red-colored treat. It’s like a raisin, but instead of a dried grape it’s a dried cranberry. And since I’m new to the Craisin bandwagon, they still seem pretty incredible to me. It’s like they took one of the chewy, gummy “fruit” treats from my childhood and turned it into a real piece of fruit. It just blows my mind.

Kinda like these cookies.

My love for a good oatmeal cookie led me to these, which add dried cranberries and chocolate chips to the mix. The original recipe called for white chocolate, but since I’m not a fan (is it even chocolate??), I used these incredibly tasty dark chocolate chips I found instead. Since cranberries are such a holiday staple, this seems like a good cookie to get you through the next few months.

Cranberry Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies
– 1 ½ cups of old-fashioned oats
– 1 ½ cups of flour
– 1 teaspoon of baking soda
– ½ teaspoon of salt
– 2/3 cup (11 tablespoons) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
– 2/3 cup of brown sugar
– 2 large eggs
– 1 5oz package of Craisins (or similar dried cranberries)
– 1 ½ cups of dark chocolate chips

Heat your oven to 375º.

In a medium bowl, mix together the oats, flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar together. Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat until light and fluffy. Add the oatmeal & flour mixture a little a time and mix well. Stir in the dried cranberries (I used a little less than 5 ounces) and the dark chocolate chips.

Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto a cookie sheet. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden. Let them cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Then eat.

two for me, none for you

These cookies are so buttery, and so good. The chewy Craisins and dark chocolate just work so well together. I’m definitely adding these to my list of go-to cookie recipes.

5 Comments on “Craisin-ly Good Cookies”

  1. Oh Katherine would love those! I think I would too of course.

  2. RileysMom says:

    Your recipes all look so wonderful! My husband loves raisin cookies, so I bet he adores these!

  3. Renee says:

    These really sound yummy, and so easy.

  4. Caroline says:

    I’d keep the white chocolate in the recipe, since I’m that weirdo who doesn’t like chocolate. These cookies sound awesome though. I’d probably eat the entire batch before anyone else could even try one. 🙂


Leave a Reply

