Ragu You

those are leftovers??

As part of a pre-New Year’s resolution, I’ve been trying to do more with my leftover and let fewer things go to waste. My root beer braised short ribs were so good the first time,  but could they get even better the second time around? The addition of crushed tomatoes and pasta did the trick, as I turned short ribs into a hearty meat sauce. This recipe is incredibly easy to make, so it’s perfect for a weeknight dinner.

Braised Short Rib Ragu with Pappardelle
– ½ cup of diced white onion
– ¼ cup of diced carrots
– 1 tablespoon of minced garlic
– 3 to 4 braised short ribs, cut into small pieces
– 1 28oz can of crushed tomatoes
– 2 tablespoons of red wine
– ¼ cup of beef broth
– Dried oregano
– Olive oil
– Salt and pepper
– Parmesan
– Pappardelle, or similar wide pasta

In a Dutch oven, heat some oil on medium-high heat. Add the onions and carrots and cook until soft, about 6 to 8 minutes. Add the garlic and cook another two minutes. Add the short ribs and cook for about 5 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, wine and beef broth, season to taste with oregano, salt and pepper, and let the sauce simmer for about 20 minutes. Serve over pappardelle, and top with shaved Parmesan.

I didn’t include it in the ingredients, but I also threw in some leftover mushrooms that I had sautéed in some olive oil and seasoned with salt, pepper and a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce. I decided to use pappardelle since it’s such a thick pasta and really held up under the chunky sauce. While eating this dish, I totally forgot that most of the stuff that went into this ragu were leftovers, which is pretty cool.

5 Comments on “Ragu You”

  1. IamSimplyTia says:

    I have to try this recipe! Looks hearty

  2. I would resolve to eat this if I lived closer!

  3. Caroline says:

    I didn’t think it was possible to make the short ribs even more delicious but dag nabit, you did it. 😉 Looks fabulous!

  4. Nice to ragu you too, this looks lovely!

  5. great use of leftovers and remaking something tasty into some even better.


Leave a Reply

