New Year’s Day Supper, Part 2: Scalloped Potatoes

scalloped

My New Year’s Day roast needed a good side dish, something that could complement the pork yet stand on its own. I would typically just mash or roast some potatoes, but while I was home for Christmas, I had them scalloped. I forgot how creamy and cheesy and crispy they can be this way. There are definitely a lot of boxed varieties out there, which I checked out while getting ingredients for my version, but making them from scratch isn’t that complicated at all. I used goat cheese and gouda, but any cheese that melts nicely would work.

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes
– 2 cup of heavy cream
– 4 oz of creamy goat cheese, softened
– 1 cup of shredded Gouda
– 1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
– 1 tablespoon of minced garlic
– 2 lbs of Yukon gold potatoes
– ¼ cup of grated Parmesan
– Unsalted butter
– Salt and pepper

Heat your oven to 350º.

In a bowl, mix the heavy cream with the goat cheese and Gouda. Season with a little salt and pepper and set aside. In a small pan, heat some olive oil over medium heat, then sauté the onions and garlic until soft, about 8 minutes.

Use a mandolin (or by hand) to thinly slice the potatoes and place them into a bowl of cold water. Then drain and pat dry.

Lightly grease a baking dish with some butter and then add a layer of potato slices. Add some of the onions, then a few ladles of the cream and cheese mixture. Repeat the layers — potatoes, onions, cream & cheese – until the dish is full. Top the final layer with a few pats of butter and the grated Parmesan. Bake for 1 hour to 1 ¼ hours, or until the top is golden brown and bubbling. Let cool slightly then eat.

7 Comments on “New Year’s Day Supper, Part 2: Scalloped Potatoes”

  1. Renee says:

    These sound really good and with the pork an excellent meal

  2. On a random note, I just went to double check to see if you had a Facebook page since I shared this on Facebook. I didn’t find one, but found a song called: “I’ll make love to you in the henhouse, if only you egg me on.” Seriously, I can’t make this stuff up. Also, I finally remembered to put you on my blogroll.

    • egg me on says:

      Hey! I don’t have a FB page, but should probably set one up. When I do, I’ll let you know! And thanks for adding me to your blogroll. 😀

  3. Caroline says:

    Love that you added goat cheese. Scalloped potatoes are so delicious and remind me of growing up in Ohio–my mom and grandma always made the dish (and still do). Bring on the carbs!!

    • egg me on says:

      They’re definitely a throw-back, right? I totally forgot how good they are. Goat cheese is awesome — I could have used more of it!


Leave a Reply

