A Lotta Piccata Love

love at first bite

Must I really explain it again? Okay, I will:

I love chicken.

Really, I do. It’s so versatile and easy and wonderfully delicious. And it can take on so many different flavors, like the savory and tangy and fresh ones in this chicken piccata. There’s just something about the way the shallots, garlic, wine, lemon juice and capers — those salty, vinegary, tasty little orbs — come together that makes me fall deeper in love with chicken. It makes my heart flutter and my taste buds soar.

If you’re still not convinced of my love for the bird, check out this and this and this and this.

Chicken Piccata
– 3 to 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
– ½ cup plus 1 teaspoon of flour
– Salt and pepper
– 2 ½ tablespoons of unsalted butter
– 2 tablespoons of olive oil
– 1 small shallot, finely chopped
– 4 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced
– ½ cup of white wine
– ¾ cup of low-sodium chicken broth
– 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
– 1 ½ tablespoons of capers, drained

Place each chicken breast between 2 sheets of wax paper, and use a meat mallet or a small heavy skillet to flatten them to ½ inch thick. (Or use thinly sliced chicken breasts, which many grocery stores carry.) Season both sides of the chicken with salt and pepper. Place ½ cup of flour into a shallow bowl and dredge each chicken breast, shaking off any excess.

In a large skillet, heat one tablespoon of butter and one tablespoon of oil over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and sauté 5 to 6 minutes on each side, until lightly browned and cooked through. Remove the chicken from the skillet and keep warm.

In a small bowl, combine the additional tablespoon of flour and ¼ cup of chicken broth. Stir until smooth and set aside.

Add another tablespoon of oil to the pan. Then add the shallots and cook, stirring frequently, for about 3 minutes. Add the garlic and cook another minute. Add the wine, bring to a boil, scraping any of the browned bits from the skillet. Cook until the liquid nearly evaporates. Add the remaining ½ cup of chicken broth to the skillet and bring back to a boil. Cook until liquid reduces by half, about 5 minutes. Stir in the flour/broth mixture and cook another minute, or until the sauce thickens slightly. Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the remaining butter, lemon juice and capers. Plate the chicken breasts and top with a few spoonfuls of sauce, then eat.

I paired the chicken piccata with my cheesy twice baked potatoes and some Brussels sprouts that I sautéed in a little olive oil and seasoned with a smidge of salt and pepper. Mmm. Pasta would also make a good side dish, if you’re going for a more authentic Italian meal. Or just scarf it down by itself, covered in that delicious sauce.

6 Comments on “A Lotta Piccata Love”

  1. Christina says:

    This looks delicious I will have to give your recipe a try. Great post and yummy photo 🙂 Stop by and say hi, http://saltpepperbrilliant.wordpress.com/

  2. Caroline says:

    Mmmm I’m a chicken fanatic as well. You’re right–so versatile. I always find it hard to believe that my roommate doesn’t really like the meat, or rather, cooking with it. I think it’s mainly because she’s paranoid about salmonella. She makes me Comet the sink, scrub down the counter, etc. any time I cook with chicken HAHA.

    • egg me on says:

      I knew you’d like this one! Haha, Comet! But I can kinda relate to your roommate … I’m a bit like that SNL skit from the 80s, the anal retentive chef. Sometimes I go thru an entire roll of paper towels while I cook.

  3. Piccata is so blissfully wonderful. Whoever discovered capers should be given a million dollars. And lemon + white wine is an equally delicious concoction. Yum.

  4. Erin says:

    Goodness, I love me some capers. Going to have to try this sometime when I have the will to cook. It happens approximately on the solstices.


Leave a Reply

