Backyard Fresh Eggs 2: Baked

simply eggtastic

It seems like only yesterday that my friend Laurie gave me a few of her backyard fresh eggs. But a quick look at the calendar helps me realize that was more than 3 months ago. That sound you just heard was a little part of my brain exploding, because really, where does the time go? Anyways …

This week she very generously gave me a entire DOZEN. I could definitely just eat them all sunny side up, alone on a plate, so I can enjoy those golden yolks to the fullest. But what’s the fun in that? (Okay, seriously, that would be a lot of fun, but there are so many more ways to enjoy fresh eggs.) So, I got out my ramekins and made some simple baked eggs: fresh ciabatta bread, spinach, shallots, even threw in a few pieces of our favorite pork product for good measure. It’s simple and hearty, and once that golden goodness ran over everything, I was in egg heaven.

Baked Eggs with Spinach and Shallots
– 1 slice of bacon (optional)
– ¼ cup of diced shallots
– 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
– Baby spinach
– A few slices of ciabatta bread, cubed
– 2 eggs
– 2 teaspoons of light cream
– Olive oil
– Salt and pepper
– Cooking spray
– 2 ramekins and a small baking sheet

Heat your oven to 350º.

Fry the bacon until crisp in small skillet. Place on a paper towel-lined plate and set aside. When cooled, break into small pieces. In another small pan, heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the shallot and sauté for 3 minutes. Add the garlic and sauté another minute. Add a large handful of baby spinach leaves and cook, stirring frequently, until the spinach wilts.

Lightly coat the inside of the ramekins with cooking spray. Add a few cubes of ciabatta bread to the bottom of each along with some bacon. Add half of the spinach mixture to each ramekin and then carefully top with an egg. Spoon a teaspoon of light cream over each egg and season with salt and pepper. Place the ramekins on the baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, or until the eggs set.

5 Comments on “Backyard Fresh Eggs 2: Baked”

  1. Caroline says:

    How nice of Laurie! I can’t even imagine how delicious those eggs must have tasted. The yolks are gorgeous! This sounds fantastic and I wouldn’t mind gobbling down one of those ramekins right now. 🙂

  2. It must be awesome to have a friend like Laurie who can give you such fabulous eggs on a regular basis. I love spinach, crispy bacon and runny eggs together but I imagine this recipe is a particularly delicous combination of them, and I’m really looking forward to trying it out.

  3. Beautiful – we have our own hens and are just starting to pick this year´s spinach…so perfect!

    • egg me on says:

      Nice! If and when I have a yard big enough for chickens, I might get some myself. Luckily, my friend still gives me eggs every few weeks. I haven’t had store-bought eggs in ages!


Leave a Reply

