Whole-y Fettuccine!

hey alfredo

So, I’m no health nut. This shouldn’t be a shock to people who know me. But I do think I could eat a bit healthier now and then. That’s what prompted my resolution to eat more veggies this year. And, it’s why I’ve (insanely) decided to give up some of the foods I love for the next 40 or so days. I’ll spare you the laundry list, but it’s going to force me to get a little creative with my meals. Take this fettuccine alfredo, for example. You could use whatever kind of pasta you prefer, but I used 100% whole wheat fettuccine. Is it really that much better than traditional fettuccine? I’m sure we could debate about that all day. But putting more whole grains into my body doesn’t sound like a bad thing. So I did. Plus, that whole wheat pasta went really well with this quick (and light!) alfredo sauce. It’s so easy, too. You can make the sauce in the time it takes to cook the pasta, and just toss it all together.

Fettuccine Alfredo
– 12 oz of whole wheat fettuccine
– 1 ½ tablespoons of unsalted butter
– 1 tablespoon of minced garlic
– 1 teaspoon of lemon zest
– 2 teaspoons of flour
– 1 cup of 2% milk
– 2 ½ tablespoons of Neufchatel (or low-fat cream cheese)
– 1 cup of grated Parmesan, plus more for topping
– 2 tablespoons of chopped flat-leaf parsley, plus more for topping
– Salt and pepper

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the fettuccine and cook until al dente.

Meanwhile, in a medium pot, melt the butter over medium-low heat. Add the garlic and lemon zest and cook until the garlic is slightly soft, about 1 minute. Add the flour and cook, constantly stirring, for 1 minute. Whisk in the milk, ¾ teaspoon of salt, ½ teaspoon of pepper and cook, whisking constantly, until sauce thickens, about 3 minutes. Add the Neufchatel and Parmesan, whisk until melted and the sauce is smooth. Stir in the chopped parsley.

When cooked, drain the fettuccine and return it the pot. Add the sauce and gently toss until combined. Season with additional salt and pepper if necessary. Plate, top with Parmesan and parsley, and eat.

4 Comments on “Whole-y Fettuccine!”

  1. Caroline says:

    Wow, my mind must be on the weekend already. As I was skimming the recipe, I read ‘whisk’ as ‘whiskey.’ Oh dear. Anyways, love fettuccine alfredo, this looks delicious! And yet again, we’re on the same wave length–I posted a fettuccine pasta recipe today as well, ha!

    • egg me on says:

      Haha, go ahead … add some whiskey! Seems like you need the weekend to be just as fast as I do. Your orange & prosciutto pasta looks great!

  2. I love that cheese, don’t make me spell it. This looks great to me.


Leave a Reply

