One Skillet Wonder

so rustic, so tasty

It’s seems that every week I’m loving my cast-iron skillet more and more. I’ve had the one pictured for the better part of a decade, but only recently have I started using it more frequently. I love that it easily goes from my stove to my oven, and that it’s so rustic looking. I can imagine people using this very skillet 200 years ago. And you know what? I’m bet they could have made something very similar to this bake. The herbs and spices, the winter root vegetables, the chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans), the sweet Italian sausage … it tastes just as rustic and comforting as the skillet looks.

Sausage and Chickpea Bake
– 1 lb of sweet Italian sausage with fennel, casings removed
– ½ of a large yellow onion, diced
– 2 carrots, chopped
– 2 parsnips, chopped
– 2 teaspoons of paprika
– 1 teaspoon of cumin seeds
– ½ teaspoon of dried thyme
– ½ teaspoon of red pepper flakes
– ¼ teaspoon of black pepper
– 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
– 1 ¼ cups of chicken stock
– 1 19 oz can of chickpeas, rinsed & drained
– ¼ cup of breadcrumbs
– Olive oil

Heat your oven to 350º.

In a large cast-iron skillet, heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the sausage, breaking it into pieces, and cook until brown and no traces of pink. Next add the onion, carrots and parsnips and cook until the onions are slightly soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in the paprika, cumin seeds, thyme, red pepper flakes and black pepper and cook until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Stir in the minced garlic and cook 2 minutes. Stir in the chicken stock and simmer until the liquid reduces by about 1/3. Stir in the chickpeas, and then sprinkle the breadcrumbs over the top. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the breadcrumbs are golden brown. Let cool slightly, then eat.

check out all those chickpeas

This bake is perfect for a cold night. I love the way all of the flavors meld together, from the sweet sausage to the spicy paprika and cumin seeds, plus the soft and crunchy texture from the chickpeas is amazing.

10 Comments on “One Skillet Wonder”

  1. billpeeler says:

    I’m a big fan of my cast iron. Use it whenever I can – also your bake looks awesome —-

  2. Joanne Ozug says:

    Everything in here is just fantastic! I love that it’s baked in the cast iron!

  3. Caroline says:

    Such a clever idea, Tommy! Sounds delicious. I need to invest in a cast iron skillet. Can you believe I don’t have one? I know, crazy talk. Or, I guess I can just visit home and ‘borrow’ my mom’s skillet? 😉

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks Caroline, and thanks again for the shout-out today. You need to get yourself a cast-iron skillet pronto — or just borrow your mom’s. 😉

  4. Angie says:

    ooooh !! this looks sooo yummy!! =D

  5. I love my cast-iron too. This is some kind of hearty deliciousness.

  6. Renee says:

    This sounds very delicious, and I will get to use my cast iron skillet. Was beginning to think why did I buy this.


Leave a Reply

