100th Post: Green Eggs & Ham

i would happily eat this on a boat, or with a goat

Guess what, friends? This is my 100th post! In honor of this milestone, as well as Dr. Seuss’s birthday last week, I decided to make green eggs and ham. Green Eggs and Ham was one of my absolute favorite books as a kid. I don’t know why Sam I Am wanted that dog-thing in a hat to eat his green eggs and ham, but I’m glad he did. Maybe that’s why I like eggs so much today. Hmm …

My version of green eggs and ham starts with a few fried slices of prosciutto, then a “fry-poached” egg topped with homemade pesto sauce. It’s probably what Italian Sam I Am would make. Want to hear something strange? I don’t like basil but I like pesto. Go figure. Also – a big thanks to everyone who’s been reading egg me on and supporting my cooking and baking adventures. I probably wouldn’t have made it this far without you, so it really means a lot.

Green Eggs and Ham
For the pesto:
– 1 bunch of basil leaves
– 1 large handful of flat-leaf parsley
– ¼ cup of toasted pine nuts
– ¼ cup of grated Parmesan
– ½ teaspoon of minced garlic
– ¼ teaspoon of pepper
– ½ teaspoon of salt
– Pinch of red pepper flakes
– ½ cup of olive oil, plus more if needed
– 1 to 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
– Food processor or blender

For the eggs:
– 2 eggs
– 4 slices of prosciutto
– ¼ teaspoon of fresh thyme, chopped
– 1 tablespoon of butter
– Olive oil
– Salt and pepper

Put the basil, parsley, pine nuts, Parmesan, garlic and olive oil into a food processor. Pulse until fairly smooth, adding more oil if too thick. Season with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. If making ahead of time, add a few tablespoons of lemon juice to help preserve the bright green color, then store in the fridge. Note: this recipe makes more than 1 cup of pesto, so you’ll definitely have some to enjoy with your favorite pasta.

Add a small amount of oil to a skillet over medium heat. Add the thyme and let cook for 30 seconds. Add the prosciutto slices and fry until crisp. Remove from the skillet and place on a paper towel-lined plate.

In a small skillet, head a tablespoon of butter over medium heat. When nearly melted, add 1 egg and season with salt and pepper. Add a small amount of water to the pan – enough so that the egg is slightly floating – then cover and let cook until the egg yolk becomes cloudy. Carefully remove from the skillet and repeat with the second egg.

On a plate, add 2 slices of fried prosciutto, top with an egg and a spoonful of pesto. Then eat.

15 Comments on “100th Post: Green Eggs & Ham”

  1. billpeeler says:

    That looks awesome – if there’s one thing I love more than pesto, it’s making homemade pesto. Well done!

  2. Brilliant idea, I bet fried prosciutto is divine too.

  3. Awesome Blossom says:

    Yum.

  4. Caroline says:

    This seriously looks so good. Pesto and prosciutto and probably two of my very favorite food items. Well, eggs of course too! and congrats on your 100th post–what a milestone!! 🙂

  5. As your biggest and coolest fan, aside Ms. Caroline, I’d like to congratulate you and take at least half the credit. Ha, OK 40 percent. Kidding, man this looks good. Way to go on 100 and here’s to 100 more. They all have to have funny titles you know.

    • egg me on says:

      Haha. So, so true Greg. How about we say 43%? I really do appreciate all of your support and encouragement, and boozy cocktails for inspiration. When you say “all have to have funny titles” do you really mean ALL? Oof. Sometimes that’s a bigger challenge than cooking the food!

  6. Joanne says:

    Congrats on the 100th post, this is a pretty awesome post to celebrate with!

  7. Scott says:

    gooooooo T-Boz!

  8. Kumu says:

    Congratulations on reaching the 100 milestone 🙂

  9. mbfitz (formerly ofof hh) says:

    TF! What a joy to read about you…and learn alot more about you. And I learned about a “fried poached egg”…love it. A new trick for me to try this weekend, with a spare pair of eggs lying around until I get it “just so”. Which reminds ME of favorite children’s books from days of yore – JUST SO Stories. Those and Eloise at the Plaza. That WAS going to be my life! In fact, in NYC this week for biz, I passed the Plaza and its water fountain where Zelda Fitzgerald famously swam, and I suddenly wanted to have a suite on the top floor, a turtle, and a pug. Hey, I do have a pug, so I am partially there. Now I need a benevolent auntie to foot the whole bill! xoxo m

    • egg me on says:

      Margaret! What a great comment! So, so good to hear from you, and thanks for reading the blog. I’m glad I could teach you something. If only all of us could live a life like that … swimming in fountains and enjoying time with our turtles and pugs. Sigh …


Leave a Reply

