Monkeying Around with Frozen Bananas

crazy good banana "ice cream"

Here’s something crazy. Crazy, I tell you! Did you know you can make ice cream with only ONE ingredient? And that one ingredient might just blow your mind:

Frozen bananas. See, totally crazy.

But it’s true. I think a lot of people have probably seen this recipe, especially those who read a lot of food blogs, but I didn’t really believe it worked until I tried it myself. You can make a creamy dessert that so closely resembles ice cream, you’ll swear it’s made with milk and cream and sugar. But it’s just a few ripe bananas, frozen and then whipped up in a blender. I added a little bit of peanut butter to give it some extra flavor. I think a drizzle of honey would be pretty tasty. Or even some pieces of strawberries mixed in. You can monkey around and add in whatever you like.

Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream
– 4 ripe bananas
– 2 teaspoons of smooth peanut butter

Peel and slice the bananas, and place on a small non-stick baking sheet. Freeze for 1 to 2 hours. Put the frozen banana slices in a food processor or blender, and puree until smooth and creamy. (If you’re having a hard time getting it smooth, just add a tiny splash of milk.) Spoon the banana ice cream into a bowl and stir in the peanut butter. Eat right away for soft ice cream, or put into a freezer-proof container and freeze for a few more hours for hard ice cream.

8 Comments on “Monkeying Around with Frozen Bananas”

  1. billpeeler says:

    I never heard of this – effing brilliant!

  2. Renee says:

    This looks and sounds totally amazing, I have to make this. Who would think bananas could be so good.

  3. I just came across this idea a few days ago! Mr. Foodie is really digging Nutella right now and I bet he’d love it drizzled over the “ice cream”. I’m not overly fond of banana’s or Nutella but who knows…I might enjoy it too! 🙂

  4. Caroline says:

    Yup, my mind has just been officially blown. Who knew one ingredient could create such a delicious treat!? I would have added peanut butter as well…love the flavor with banana. I need to make some of this asap for those late night dessert cravings. Won’t feel as bad about eating this, that’s for sure!

  5. This is a new one on me too! I will try it when we have a banana overage.


Leave a Reply

