You Lil’ Devils

they only look like angels

I have a shocking confession to make: I’ve never made deviled eggs. (!!!)

I know, I know, seems weird for someone with a blog called egg me on. It’s okay, you can totally judge. I have hard boiled eggs on many occasions. (There’s proof here & here & here.) I also truly love deviled eggs. I’ve been known to stand next to a plate of them at parties just so I can eat more than anyone else. But … I’ve never actually made the little devils myself. So with Easter just a few days away, I figured now’s a good time as any to go for it. Since I’m feeling extra generous (guilty?), I’m giving you three variations, including the classic deviled egg recipe that my mom makes. They’re all very simple, and all very, very tasty.

Hard boiling eggs is incredibly easy. Place your eggs in a pot and cover them with cold water. Bring to a rolling boil and then remove from the heat, cover and let stand for about 15 minutes. Drain, then gently run the eggs under cold water. When completely cool, remove the shells.

bacony devils

Bacon & Scallion Deviled Eggs
– 12 hard boiled eggs, peeled, cut in half lengthwise & yolks reserved
– 3 slices of bacon
– 1/3 cup of mayonnaise
– 2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard
– 1 tablespoon of diced scallions plus more for garnish

Fry the bacon in a skillet until crisp. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate and set aside. Strain bacon drippings through a fine mesh strainer and reserve 2 tablespoons of liquid. Mix the egg yolks, mayo, Dijon mustard, diced scallions and bacon drippings in a bowl until smooth. Transfer to a plastic bag and chill for 10 minutes. Cut off one of the corners and pipe into the eggs. Garnish with additional scallions and crumbled bacon.

creamy devils

Mom’s Classic Deviled Eggs
– 12 hard boiled eggs, peeled, cut in half lengthwise & yolks reserved
– 1/3 cup of mayonnaise
– 1 tablespoon of yellow mustard
– Paprika

Mix the egg yolks, mayo and mustard in a bowl until smooth. Transfer to a plastic bag and chill for 10 minutes. Cut off one of the corners and pipe into the eggs. Garnish with paprika.

spicy devils

Spicy Deviled Eggs
– 12 hard boiled eggs, peeled, cut in half lengthwise & yolks reserved
– 1/3 cup of mayonnaise
– 2 tablespoons of Sriracha hot sauce
– 1 tablespoon of lime juice

Mix the egg yolks, mayo, Sriracha and lime juice in a bowl until smooth. Transfer to a plastic bag and chill for 10 minutes. Cut off one of the corners and pipe into the eggs. Garnish with a small dollop of extra Sriracha on top.

12 Comments on “You Lil’ Devils”

  1. Caroline says:

    Never made hard boiled eggs!? OK fine, I won’t judge. 🙂 All three of your recipes sound delicious…I’m intrigued by the spicy deviled eggs. Never added lime or Sriracha to mine. I have to make one recipe soon that a family friend made–you would love it. Like yours, there’s bacon crumbles on top, but also BACON GREASE in the egg mixture! Obviously really healthy for you…..

  2. So pretty! I’ve never ever made deviled eggs either… I want to though 😀

  3. I love that they all are so different, but are all simple.

  4. I like the spin with the Sriracha! Since Devilled Eggs are on the menu for Easter I may have to give these a test run!

  5. […] I hope the Easter Bunny was good to everyone. Need some last-minute recipes for today’s feast? There’s still time to make a quiche for brunch. Or an easy potato side dish to go with your ham. Or some delicious cheesy rolls. And yes, everyone’s favorite, deviled eggs. […]

  6. billpeeler says:

    I love, LOVE deviled eggs – I grew up on them at church socials from the south and my friends are always making fun of me – but they always eat every last one whenever I make them. I also have 14 deviled egg plates – but that’s a different story. Yours looks great!

  7. […] If you’re looking for more deviled egg inspiration, head over to Egg Me On. […]

  8. Great recipes and really help to get my mind going. Sweet Caroline sent me over. Love your blog. I am going to check you out on FB.

  9. Beautiful – came over from Sweet Caroline´s blog and I love what I see!


Leave a Reply

