Chickeny With a Chance of Meatballs

someone took a bite out of one of those! and sprinkled them with extra parmesan! oh no!

So yeah, this is happening: two chicken recipes in a row. Does that make me a lazy cook? I say no. It’s just further proof of how cluckin’ crazy obsessed with chicken I am. And seriously – who’s not looking for another chicken recipe? Some people might find ground chicken a little weird, but without it, you wouldn’t be able to make tasty meatballs like these. Serve them with your favorite red sauce and pasta for a hearty, yet simple-to-make supper.

Baked Chicken Parmesan Meatballs
– 1 lb of extra lean ground chicken
– ½ cup of breadcrumbs
– ¾ cup of grated Parmesan
– 1 large egg
– 2 teaspoons of Montreal Chicken seasoning
– 1 tablespoon of olive oil
– ½ teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes
– Red sauce (like this perhaps?)
– Pasta, like ziti rigati

Heat your oven to 425º.

Mix the ground chicken, breadcrumbs, Parmesan, egg, seasoning, olive oil and red pepper flakes in a large bowl. Form into 12 meatballs and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake for 14 minutes, flipping over halfway through, until golden brown.

I like to put the meatballs into a large pan of simmering sauce, and let it all cook together for about 10 minutes. The sauce gets added flavor from the meatballs, and the meatballs get covered in sauce. It’s a win-win situation.

5 Comments on “Chickeny With a Chance of Meatballs”

  1. Caroline says:

    Well, you know I’m always looking for new chicken recipes. Definitely doesn’t make you a lazy cook! I say it makes you more creative because you have to think of so many different ways to use the meat. And extra parmesan!?!! How dare you? Kidding of course. The more cheese the merrier. 🙂

    • egg me on says:

      Yes, I like that angle — makes me more creative! Isn’t that parmesan a little ridiculous? I didn’t realize I added THAT much until I saw the photo. But you know, I was fine with it. 😀

  2. billpeeler says:

    I don’t think ground chicken is weird at all – the meatballs look delicious. Go on with your bad self —

  3. You mother clucker. Sorry you started it. I could eat a big plate of this.


Leave a Reply

