Carolina Chicken on My Mind

carolina style BBQ chicken

and in my sauce covered hands

With Memorial Day just days away, I thought some grilling was in order. So I’ve taken a trip down south, to the Carolinas. And on my way, I struck gold … gold barbecue sauce, that is. The funny thing about this chicken is that you’ll try eating it with a knife and fork. You really will. You’ll try to cut off little pieces in a foolish attempt to get the perfect bite of crispy, sauced up skin and juicy white meat. But this will be pointless and frustrating. You’ll want the tangy sweet chicken in your mouth faster. So then you’ll just pick it up with your hands and chow down. But aren’t sauced covered hands the sign of a great meal? Get yourself some napkins and kick off summer right.

Carolina-style BBQ Chicken Thighs
– 4 large bone-in chicken thighs
– ¼ cup of yellow mustard
– 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
– 2 tablespoons of brown sugar
– ¾ teaspoon of mustard powder
– 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce
– 1 teaspoon (or more) of Tabasco hot sauce
– 1 tablespoon of melted unsalted butter
– Salt and pepper

Clean and pat the chicken thighs dry. Season with salt and pepper, and then place in a large bowl.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the yellow mustard, apple cider vinegar, brown sugar, mustard powder, Worcestershire sauce and hot sauce, and then whisk in the melted butter. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Pour half of the sauce over the chicken and toss to coat. Marinate at room temperature for 15 to 20 minutes. Grill the chicken on medium heat, basting with the remaining sauce, until cooked through, about 12 minutes on each side. Let stand a few minutes before serving. Then eat.

carolina style BBQ chicken

drooling yet?

Looking for a tasty side dish to go with your barbecued chicken? Check back tomorrow.

8 Comments on “Carolina Chicken on My Mind”

  1. billpeeler says:

    As a North Carolina native, I can confirm that barbeque sauce is just better down there. And chicken thighs are the best parts for grilling. Now I’m jealous ——-

  2. Cassie says:

    This looks a-mazing. Can’t wait to try it!

  3. griffinsgrub says:

    That sounds amazing. Just this week, I got to sample a mustard based bbq sauce for the first time. A friend sent me some from a BBQ joint in South Carolina called Shealy’s. I will definitely be trying out your version soon.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Very tasty looking food. I love the look of the sauce on the chicken.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. I think you may be right about the grilling. I need to fire the bbq up – looks fantastic.

  6. I’ve never tried mustard based BBQ sauce, can you believe it? I need to get on that ASAP!

  7. I love this one. I stick with a molasses base, but I do like to dabble. One BBQ place here has a 6-pack of sauce on the table and the mustard is one of them. This would be so great with a big side of greens.


Leave a Reply

