Monday Meltdown: Strawberry Ice Cream

strawberry ice cream

i scream, you scream

Guess what everyone? I got an ice cream maker. Finally. So that means it’s the Summer of Ice Cream. Or, the Summer of Frozen Treats. Or, the Summer of Me Eating Too Much Dairy. And hence forth, every Monday* this summer will have a Meltdown. I know, Monday’s not really the day you want to have a meltdown. But what if you had fresh ice cream to start the week? That’s a different kind of meltdown entirely. I thought I’d start with my favorite ice cream flavor. Well, one of my favorites. Like top 3. (There’s a 3-way tie with coffee, strawberry and mint chocolate chip. Ohh, and black raspberry is up there too.) Anyway, let’s all scream for homemade ice cream!

Strawberry Ice Cream
– 1 cup of whole milk
– 1 cup of heavy cream
– 2 vanilla beans
– ¾ cup of sugar, plus 1 teaspoon
– 5 egg yolks
– Pinch of salt
– 2 lbs of fresh strawberries, divided

In a saucepan, bring the milk, cream and the inside paste from the vanilla beans to a simmer.

In a bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and ¾ cup of sugar until it thickens and turns a plate yellow, about 3 minutes.

Pour about 1 cup of the hot milk mixture into the egg yolk mixture while whisking. Then pour the egg yolk mixture into the sauce pan and cook over low heat for 5 to 7 minutes, or until the custard thickens and coats the back of a wooden spoon.

Strain the mixture into a clean bowl and stir in the salt. Cover tightly with plastic wrap (make sure the plastic touches the custard) and chill in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours, or up to overnight.

When ready to make the ice cream, chop 1 lb of strawberries and place into a blender. Sprinkle with a teaspoon of sugar, let stand for 5 minutes, and then puree until smooth. Strain the strawberry puree to remove any seeds, and then combine with the chilled custard until it turns pale pink.

Place the mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the machine’s instructions. Most machines take 20 to 40 minutes to make ice cream. Dice the remaining 1 lb of strawberries. When the ice cream is thick and frozen, stir in the strawberry pieces by hand. Eat it now for soft serve-like ice cream. Or place in the freezer and let the ice cream harden a few hours.

*As many Mondays as I can do.

5 Comments on “Monday Meltdown: Strawberry Ice Cream”

  1. billpeeler says:

    Good for you! I recently got an ice cream maker as well and made some blueberry ice cream just yesterday. It was good – but it actually tasted more vanilla and I think the blueberry flavor got lost in all the custardy richness. Even though I put in 2 pints of blueberrys! Still good though. Anyway – was just thinking about all this when your post came through. Enjoy the ice cream maker!!

  2. I love those big chunks of strawberries.

  3. Caroline says:

    Gets me so excited for summer cooking/baking. Strawberry ice cream is one of my favorites as well. You’re going to love your ice cream maker. I still need to invest in one! Look forward to next Monday. 😀

  4. NerdyBaker says:

    “the Summer of Me Eating Too Much Dairy” Hilarious!
    I know, I borrowed an ice cream maker and it was so easy and I really enjoyed it. I need to get one.

    • egg me on says:

      Haha. Seriously. I might become lactose intolerant this summer. 😀 AND, another batch of homemade ice cream is coming this week! Stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

