Monday Meltdown: Coffee Ice Cream

coffee ice cream

putting it in a mug means you can eat it for breakfast

Okay. I’ve messed up. No meltdowns for 3 long weeks. Sorry friends. But I’m making up for it this week one of my absolute favorite ice cream flavors — coffee! Quick story: I didn’t know coffee ice cream existed until college. It just wasn’t a popular flavor in Texas. Or, I lived under a rock and never paid attention to anything other than soft serve twists. But once I discovered it, it quickly shot to the top of my list. This recipe gets its coffee flavor from those little packs of Starbucks Via instant coffee. I went for the Italian roast because I wanted a big, rich flavor. I didn’t mix in bits of Heath bar because I thought that might just be too amazing. Besides, that’ll give me something to look forward to later in the week.

Coffee Ice Cream
– 1 ½ cups of whole milk
– 2 ½ cups of heavy cream
– 1/3 cup of sugar
– 1/3 cup of brown sugar
– 2 packs of Starbucks Via Italian Roast ready brew (or similar)
– ½ teaspoon of espresso powder
– ½ teaspoon of vanilla
– Pinch of salt
– 4 egg yolks

Add the milk, 1 ½ cup of heavy cream, sugar, brown sugar, coffee, espresso powder, vanilla and salt in a saucepan. Whisk together over medium heat until coffee and sugars dissolve and it begins to steam.

Add about half a cup of the milk mixture to the egg yolks and whisk until combined. Pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan and heat until it reaches 170º or until it coats the back of a wooden spoon.

Pour the remaining cup of heavy cream into a large bowl and cover with a mesh strainer. Pour the cooked coffee and milk mixture through the strainer and stir to combine. Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge until cold or overnight.

Place the mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the machine’s instructions. Most machines take 20 to 40 minutes to make ice cream. When the ice cream is thick and creamy, place into a freezer-safe container (with piece of parchment paper between the ice cream and the lid) and let it harden for a few hours. Let it sit at room temperature for a few minutes before scooping, and then eat.

7 Comments on “Monday Meltdown: Coffee Ice Cream”

  1. trialsinfood says:

    yum! i love coffee flavour anything!

  2. billpeeler says:

    coffee + ice cream = heaven in a spoon!

  3. Renee says:

    Looks so good wish I had some right now. I bet the Heath bar bits would be soo good.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    If I had this it would be the beginning of the end. I have to stay away from delicious sweet things that could be construed as ‘breakfast fare’. Unfair.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. Looks like the perfect breakfast to me.

  6. This looks amazing! Love coffee flavor and the ice cream sounds rich and incredible.


Leave a Reply

