Mi Pollo es Su Pollo (aka My Chicken is Your Chicken)

spanish chicken & rice

actually, this is all mine, not yours

Another week, another chicken recipe! But since this is one of those short weeks that I loathe, I needed a fast, flavor meal. This Spanish-inpsired chicken & rice dish is a bit outside my comfort zone based on 1 ingredient: green olives. I don’t like olives, green or black varieties, but after eating this, I’m starting to think maybe I do.

Spanish Chicken & Rice
– 3 chicken drumsticks
– 3 chicken thighs
– 1 onion, chopped
– 1 red bell pepper, chopped
– 4 cloves of garlic, minced
– 1 tablespoon of smoked paprika
– 1 cup of rice
– ½ cup of dry white wine
– 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes
– 1 cup of low-sodium chicken stock
– ½ teaspoon of saffron
– 1 bay leaf
– 1 cup of peas, fresh or frozen (thawed)
– 15 green olives, pitted and chopped
– 6 Peppadew peppers, chopped
– Salt and pepper
– Olive oil

Pat the chicken pieces dry and season with salt and pepper on both sides. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and brown on all sides, about 12 minutes. Remove from the skillet and keep warm.

Pour off all but 2 tablespoons of chicken fat from the skillet. Add the onion and bell pepper and cook over medium-high heat until soft, about 6 minutes. Add the garlic, paprika and rice, and stir to mix. Cook for about 2 minutes. Add the wine and cook over high heat for another 2 minutes. Stir in the diced tomatoes, chicken stock, saffron and bay leaf. Return chicken pieces (and any juices) back to the skillet, tucking them into the rice.

Cover and simmer over low heat until chicken is cooked through, rice is tender and most of the liquid is absorbed, 20 to 25 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in the olives, Peppadew peppers and season to taste with additional salt and pepper. Cover for 10 minutes. Remove bay leaf and eat.

8 Comments on “Mi Pollo es Su Pollo (aka My Chicken is Your Chicken)”

  1. Lovely. You wanna watch olives, they are one of those ‘likes’ that sneaks up on you.

  2. billpeeler says:

    I’m with you on the olives = not a fan. But I’ve found that I’m able to tolerate them in dishes like this. Love all the dark meat, btw —

  3. I appreciate all the chicken recipes. It’s the only reasonably priced meat left out there. This looks awesome by the way.

  4. Caroline says:

    I don’t like black or green olives either, so maybe I’ll have to give this a try to see if I change my mind! This sounds awesome and looks deeeelicoius.

    • egg me on says:

      Really, you should! I was surprised how much I liked the olives. They definitely have a unique taste, so go light on them if you want.

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    So many people don’t like olives. Mostly, I’ll wager because they have only experienced low grade varieties. A good olive is heavenly. Poor olives are pretty dreadful, salty bitter nastiness.
    Best,
    Conor

    ps: Lovely chicken. I’m with you on the dark meat.


Leave a Reply

