Cornbread in a Jiffy

cast iron skillet corn bread

cornbread saving time

Bust out your cast iron skillet, because it’s cornbread time! Like many of you out there, I grew up eating Jiffy Mix corn muffins. That delightfully retro blue box always had a place in our cupboard, and those crumbly muffins still hold a special place in my heart. But – you can make your very own cornbread from scratch in the same amount of time. It’s true. This recipe is pretty traditional, meaning it’s more savory than sweet. Because cornbread is to be eaten during supper, not after.

Cast Iron Skillet Cornbread
– ¼ cup of vegetable oil
– 2 cup of cornmeal
– ½ cup of flour
– 2 teaspoons of baking powder
– ½ teaspoon of baking soda
– 1 teaspoon of salt
– 1 egg
– 2 cups of buttermilk
– ½ cup of shredded Cheddar cheese
– 1 tablespoon of diced chives
– Pinch of cayenne pepper

Heat your oven to 450º.

While the oven is heating up, pour the oil into a cast iron skillet and then place it in the oven until sizzling.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg and buttermilk, and then add it to the flour mixture and stir until well combined. Next stir in the cheese, chives and cayenne.

Take the skillet out of the oven, carefully add the hot oil to the batter and stir until combined. Pour the batter into the skillet and then bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Slice and eat.

6 Comments on “Cornbread in a Jiffy”

  1. Bill Peeler says:

    I got on a tear awhile back with trying to recreate my mom’s cornbread. Never really measured up, so I just started making it differently and doing my own thing. And I totally agree with cornbread being more savory. That’s how I grew up with it. Yours looks awesome —-

  2. Now you see, I tried with the cornbread. We had it on our first ever night on the US, but I couldn’t get over how it felt like eating cake with dinner. Perhaps your ‘more savoury’ version might persuade me…

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks Claire. Yeah, there’s a BIG debate in the States whether cornbread should be sweet or savory. While I don’t mind the sweeter stuff, savory is better with a meal, like a pot of chili. This one ended up tasting buttery, even though there’s no butter in it! (I guess that’s the buttermilk.) Give it a try. 🙂

  3. Caroline says:

    That reminds me…I really need to invest in a cast iron skillet. Can’t believe I don’t have one! I do admit I’m a sucker for the Jiffy mix muffins, but know your homemade ones are 10x better. They definitely look it!

    • egg me on says:

      You really, really need to get a cast iron skillet! Maybe we can trade — I’ll send you mine and you can send me those banana cupcakes you’re dying to get rid of. 😉


Leave a Reply

