200th Post: Ciabatta Breakfast Pizza

ciabatta breakfast pizza

put an egg on it

Well folks, here we are: Post Number 200. I really can’t believe it. I didn’t think I’d ever make to 100, but then I did. And now there’s 100 posts more. Wow. A gigantic THANKS to everyone who’s egged me on over the past 2+ years.

I’m very happy that this little endeavor of mine has evolved from an egg-centric blog to one that now includes everything – cookies, chicken, baked goods, ice cream, brussels sprouts – that I love to make and eat. This ciabatta breakfast pizza fits in quite nicely. It’s comforting and easy, a little spicy and cheesy, and puts a new spin on a classic dish – French bread pizza. Plus, it’s something you can eat for brunch or supper, which in my book means it’s a truly awesome dish.

Ciabatta Breakfast Pizza
1 demi loaf of ciabatta bread, cut in half lengthwise
2 to 3 links of hot Italian sausage, casings removed
1 tablespoon of tomato paste
4 slices of hot pepper Colby Jack cheese
3 eggs
Garlic powder
Salt and pepper
Olive oil
Scallions, chopped (for garnish)

Heat your oven to 450º.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the sausage, breaking it into pieces, and cook until brown and no traces of pink. Stir in the tomato paste and cook for 2 more minutes.

Place the bottom half of the ciabatta bread on a baking sheet, and put the other half aside for another recipe (or make 2 pizzas). Lightly drizzle the bread with olive oil and a sprinkle of garlic salt. Place the cheese slices on the bread, allowing them to slightly overlap, and then add the cooked sausage on top. Bake for 10 minutes, until the cheese melts and the bread crisps.

While the pizza bakes, fry the eggs. Season with salt and pepper. Gently place the eggs on top of the pizza and garnish with chopped scallion. Cut into pieces and eat.

ciabatta breakfast pizza

a slice of eggy heaven

Thanks again everyone. Here’s to 200 more posts!

24 Comments on “200th Post: Ciabatta Breakfast Pizza”

  1. Congrats! And here’s to another 200 posts!

  2. windykitchen says:

    Congrats on the milestone!

  3. Blush says:

    Congratulations on your 200th post! That’s awesome!!

  4. Yum – this would be a great lunch too. Well done on reaching 200!

  5. A dish worthy of the milestone! Looks great.

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely stuff Tommy,
    I hit 121 today. I have a few racked and stacked but 200 seems a long way off. I suspect inspiration will abandon me between now and then.
    Congratulations,
    Conor

  7. Bill Peeler says:

    Congrats on your milestone – I’m so glad I discovered your blog awhile back, you’ve given me some great cooking ideas and tips! And the breakfast pizza looks awesome – I’m a big fan of breakfast pizza and don’t have it nearly enough as I should. Looks great – and keep up the great work!

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks so much, Bill! I appreciate all of the support — plus the inspiration from your own blog. That pizza is one of my faces. I’m only allowing myself to make it once a month though. 🙂

  8. Lazy Suzan says:

    I can’t even handle how good that looks right now…

  9. Man Fuel says:

    Congrats on the 200th post! Such a great post at that. You could put an egg on top of a leather-bound book and I would try to eat it. Luckily, you didn’t do that.

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks! Haha, I think I’d even try a leather book with an egg on top. Maybe by the time I hit 300, I can find a way to make that taste good to everyone.

  10. Lilly Sue says:

    Mmm…looks delicious 🙂 Congrats on 200 posts!

  11. S says:

    Thanks a lot for popping by at my blog today. Here’s another congratulations on your 200th post!! Seeing all the food you’ve cooked/baked/eaten is definitely making me hungry…


Leave a Reply

