Midweek Meltdown: Mint Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream

mint chocolate chunk ice cream

excite-MINT

Guess what, people? Meltdowns are back! And since the official start of Summer is this weekend, it seems like the right time for it.

Even after making 8 different flavors of ice cream last year (plus 1 sorbet and 1 gelato), I didn’t make one of my favorites: mint chocolate chip. I’m really glad I did now, because the combination of herby mint and rich, dark chocolate is one of the best flavors ever. I wasn’t going to add food coloring, but my brain couldn’t process “mint” without that traditional green hue. But I do like the way the brown chocolate blends with the minty green in the finished product. Tastes pretty good too.

Mint Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream
4 cups (1 quart) of half & half
5 large egg yolks
3/4 cup of sugar
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 ½ teaspoons of mint extract
Green food coloring (optional)
3 oz of dark chocolate mini chunks

In a large saucepan, heat the half & half over medium heat. Bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally.

Whisk the egg yolks in a large bowl until smooth. Gradually add the sugar and salt, and whisk until the mixture is pale yellow and thickened, about 3 minutes. Slowly add a little of the heated half & half into the egg mixture and whisk together. Pour the egg-half & half mixture into the saucepan and continue cooking over low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens and can coat the back of a wooden spoon, about 5 minutes.

Remove from the heat and pour through a fine mesh strainer into a large bowl. Stir in the vanilla and mint extract, and about 4 drops of green food coloring, if using. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until cold or overnight.

Place the mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the machine’s instructions. Most machines take 20 to 40 minutes to make ice cream. When the ice cream is thick and creamy, add the dark chocolate mini chunks to the machine, or stir them in by hand. Place into a freezer-safe container (with piece of parchment paper between the ice cream and the lid) and let it harden for a few hours. Let it sit at room temperature for a few minutes before scooping, and then eat.

9 Comments on “Midweek Meltdown: Mint Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream”

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Gotta make this. Thanks!

  2. I love these meltdowns you have. But you should take a page from your favorite blogger (OK, second favorite behind Caroline) and do an ice cream week! Mint chocolate is my favorite.

    • egg me on says:

      Haha, I was thinking of a weeklong meltdown myself! But that’s going to take some serious planning, and a lot of spoons.

      • Caroline says:

        Hey, I’m liking the idea of this ice cream week!! I’m more than happy to offer my taste testing services every day. 😀

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice indeed. It never gets warm enough for long enough here in Ireland to make it worth my while getting an ice cream machine, sadly.

    • egg me on says:

      I’ll send some across the pond to you! Although that’s going to be on messy FedEx package …

  4. Man Fuel says:

    Nice! My friend was JUST asking people what kind of ice cream he should make at home. This looks like the one!


Leave a Reply

