Spill the Beans

baked beans

wicked good beans

Quick: what’s a tasty backyard barbecue side dish that isn’t macaroni, pasta or potato salad?

If you said corn on the cob or cole slaw you’re right – and wrong. What about baked beans, people?? I think everyone always forgets about those. Although maybe not, judging by the size of the baked beans section in the grocery store. Sure, you can go ahead and pick up a can of those “famous family recipe” beans and bring them to your next BBQ. People will commend you for using the can opener and heating something up on the stove.

But if you really want to impress people, here’s a little secret: bring a crock of homemade baked beans. It’s just as easy, you still get to practice your can opening skills, and people will be genuinely delighted. The best part is that you get to make your own glorious sauce to cook them in, which here is a combination of ketchup, molasses (for sweetness), Dijon mustard (for tang) and canned chipotles (for heat). This recipe also uses cannellini beans, which are nice hearty beans they won’t turn into mush while baking.

Easy Baked Beans
5 15.5 oz cans of cannellini beans, rinsed & drained
1 small onion, diced
1 cup of ketchup
1 cup of molasses
½ cup of Dijon mustard
1 to 2 canned chipotles in adobo sauce plus some sauce
2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
Salt and pepper
Olive oil

Heat your oven to 350º.

In a Dutch oven, heat some a tablespoon of oil over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until soft and slightly translucent. Leave in the pot and set aside.

In a blender, combine the ketchup, molasses, mustard, chipotles, 2 tablespoons of the adobo sauce and the apple cider vinegar. Blend until combined. Adjust flavors according to taste.

Add the beans and the ketchup mixture to the Dutch oven. Stir to combine and season to taste with salt and pepper. Bake uncovered for 30 to 35 minutes until heated throughout and the sides bubble. Serve hot.

7 Comments on “Spill the Beans”

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds like a great recipe and I’m so glad it doesn’t have a can of baked beans in the ingredient list. 🙂

    • egg me on says:

      Haha, believe me, I saw a lot of recipes like that and made sure to steer clear. That seems like cheating! 🙂

  2. Man Fuel says:

    Chipotle and beans is where it’s at. My issue with bakes beans was always the sweetness and how most of the time, it’s a little overpowering. Your ingredients seem to balance that out though. Now I just need some grilled hot dogs and I’ll be good to go!

    • egg me on says:

      Yeah, I know what you mean about overly sweet. The molasses doesn’t give it that super sugary taste, which was nice. Grilled hot dogs would be great with these — I ate them with some grilled kielbasa and that was pretty great too.

  3. I am so glad you posted this! Just the other day I was thinking about searching for a good baked bean recipe. I am going to make yours. I love baked beans sitting next to the cole slaw on my plate so it mixes a little. My mom made the best baked beans I ever had. I never did get her recipe. Your recipe looks almost exact. I just remember molasses and ketchup in hers. Thank you!

    • egg me on says:

      Oh, my pleasure! I hope it reminds you of your mom’s recipe after you taste it too. I also love the way the sauce from the beans mix with other stuff on the plate.

  4. Fabulous flavours. I intend to have a go at something like this in the slow cooker* sometime soon. *crockpot!


Leave a Reply

