Chip In

zucchini chips

betcha can’t eat just one

Okay, for those of you keeping count (and I do hope some of you are), it’s been more than 2 weeks since my last post. Don’t worry, there’s nothing wrong – I’m still making eggs and crafting bad puns. I’ve just taken a little time off to rest and recharge.

A quick recap: I got a bad sunburn. I’ve nearly melted due to the oppressive Boston humidity. I spent some time way (way) up in Maine with my friends. I’ve been testing and re-testing new recipes, some that will definitely find their way onto this blog in the near future, including a cake that just might have done away with my long-standing notion that “I don’t like cake.” But more on that later.

For now, I’m offering something quick and easy and tasty. My old friend zucchini is back for a visit, this time in crispy chip form. These little guys would make a great alternative to potato chips, or even french fries. I thought about concocting a complementary dip for them, but you know what? They don’t need it. They’re that good on their own.

Zucchini Chips
1 large zucchini, cut into 1/4 inch thick slices (the mandolin is your friend)
½ cup of breadcrumbs, plus more if needed
2 teaspoons of Adobo seasoning
1/4 teaspoon of pepper
3 tablespoons of milk
Cooking spray

Heat your oven to 425º.

Combine the breadcrumbs, Adobo seasoning and pepper in a shallow dish. Put the milk in another shallow dish. Dip the zucchini slices in the milk and then dredge in the breadcrumb mixture. Place the slices on a wire rack lightly coated with cooking spray, and then place the rack on a baking sheet. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until browned and crisp.

7 Comments on “Chip In”

  1. Caroline says:

    Welcome back! It’s always nice to take a break and get some rest, I’ve definitely been there. These zucchini chips sound incredible. I definitely couldn’t just have one. I bet they’d be delicious with some aioli!

    • egg me on says:

      Hey, hey! It feels good to be back. Ooo … some garlic aioli would be great with these! Or truffle aioli! 😉

  2. billpeeler says:

    Those look great – bet they’d make a great snack or side dish. Either way – yeah, I couldn’t have just one, either.

  3. Those look awesome! And no frying, which is even better. Always makes such a mess.

  4. windykitchen says:

    Yum! I’ve started to get into zucchini “noodles” as a pasta replacement…you can do so much with zucchini! These look tastytasty.


Leave a Reply

