Putting on My Suit and Bow-tie Pasta Salad

broccoli, grape & bow-tie pasta salad

let me show you a few things

Summer cooking should be easy. And nothing is easier than this pasta salad.

Well, except for ordering take out. Although that still requires some effort. Answering the front door is hard you guys, just about as hard as figuring out what to tip the delivery guy. For that matter, why are you even ordering food when there’s a fridge full of perfectly good ingredients in the very next room? Get off your lazy duff and go make some dinner!

See, that’s the kind of conversation I have with myself on a weekly basis. If I only were able to motivate myself like that for other things, like going to the gym or cleaning out my junk room. Oh, I know: because those aren’t nearly as fun as cooking, or eating. It’s the eating part that really persuades me.

Broccoli, Grape & Bow-tie Pasta Salad
8 oz of bow-tie (farfalle) pasta
2 broccoli crowns, cut into small pieces
2 cups of red seedless grapes, halved
½ cup of mayonnaise
1/3 cup of red wine vinegar
1/3 cup of diced red onion
1 teaspoon of garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon of pepper
½ cup of chopped pecans, toasted

Cook the bow-tie pasta al dente, and then drain.

In a large bowl, whisk together the mayo, red wine vinegar, red onion, garlic salt and pepper. Add the hot pasta, broccoli and grapes, and toss to combine. Cover and chill at least 3 hours.

To toast the pecans, heat your oven to 350º. Place the pecans in a shallow baking dish and bake for 5 to 7 minutes, until lightly toasted and fragrant, stirring halfway through.

Stir in the toasted pecans right before serving. And then eat.

5 Comments on “Putting on My Suit and Bow-tie Pasta Salad”

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice salad Tommy. I am writing this from the couch. I need to either reach for the phone or go to the kitchen…

  2. Lilly Sue says:

    Eating is such a great persuasion 😉


Leave a Reply

