Marinate on This for a While

citrus marinated chicken thighs

lime gonna eat you up

Get this: It appears that I haven’t posted a chicken recipe in 4 months. For this chicken-obsessed cook, that’s a really (really) long time. Not that I haven’t been making chicken. Oh, because I have. I think I just felt that I was inundating everyone with too many chicken recipes. Although, as I’ve said before—you can never have too many chicken recipes. It’s true. Look it up. Go on, I’ll wait. In the meantime, I’ll be enjoying some grilled chicken thighs. Mmm. They’re so tasty, thanks to an Asian-inspired marinade that’s both salty and citrusy.

Citrus Marinated Chicken Thighs
4 to 6 skin-on bone-in chicken thighs
3 tablespoons of soy sauce
2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
1 teaspoon of lime zest
1/4 cup of lime juice
1 teaspoon of orange juice
1/4 cup of orange juice
1 bunch of scallions, diced
1 teaspoon of salt
½ teaspoon of pepper

In a food processor or blender, combine the soy sauce, vegetable oil, garlic, lime zest, lime juice, orange zest, orange juice, scallions, salt and pepper. Reserve about 1/4 cup of the marinade and pour the rest into a large Ziploc bag. Add the chicken thighs, seal and gently toss so the chicken is covered with the marinade. Chill at least 30 minutes.

Heat your grill to medium-high heat. Add the chicken thighs and grill until cooked through, about 5 to 6 minutes on each side. Let rest a few minutes, top with reserved marinade, and eat.

13 Comments on “Marinate on This for a While”

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice Tommy. I love the photo showing the ‘medium hot’ grill bar marks. Very tasty, I’ll bet. And no, you can’t have enough chicken recipes.

  2. Bill Peeler says:

    Grilled chicken is my favorite way to cook chicken. And chicken thighs are my all-time favorite parts of the bird – your chicken looks awesome. I’m sure that marinade is packed with flavor!

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds fantastic, from the use of thighs to the citrus-y marinade — and it looks even better!

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks! I like using chicken thighs since they hold up to a strong marinade. The crispy skin is always nice, too.

  4. Great marinade. I might macerate on it for a bit, if that’s OK too.

  5. laurasmess says:

    Now you’ve got me thinking about ‘the chicken or the egg’ in a very philosophical manner. Hm. Anyway, this glazed chicken looks awesome. Love the citrus!

  6. Caroline says:

    4 months!?! As a fellow chicken lover, this saddens me. haha kidding. This sounds delicious!!


Leave a Reply

