What The Fluff?! Cookies

WTF cookies

holy $#%&

What the F#@$ is in these?!

Yep. That’s pretty much the response from everyone who’s tried these cookies. I think that’s pretty accurate considering they have some unusual ingredients. Originally based on a Momofuku Milk Bar recipe (that famous bakery in NYC known for putting weird things like breakfast cereal into their cookies), I changed it up by replacing mini marshmallows with Fluff.

What’s Fluff, you ask?

It’s that gooey, marshmallow-y concoction that got it’s start in Union Square, Somerville (just a stone’s throw from where I now live) almost 100 years ago. In fact, the annual Fluff Festival was this past weekend. Nowadays, most people use it to make fudge or frosting or a Fluffernutter sandwich. Unlike regular marshmallows, Fluff is vegetarian friendly. And when mixed into cookie dough, it bakes up all ooey-gooey-wonderful, resulting in cookies that are both crispy and chewy. And 100% irresistible.

WTF Cookies (aka Cornflake & Fluff Cookies)
1 ½ cups of flour
½ teaspoon of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
1 cup (2 stick) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup of sugar
2/3 cup of packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
½ teaspoon of vanilla
3 cups of cornflakes
½ cup of milk chocolate chips
½ cup of peanut butter chips
3/4 of a 7.5 oz jar of Marshmallow Fluff

In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla, and beat for about 4 minutes, scraping down the side as needed. Add the flour mixture a little at a time until well combined. Beat in the cornflakes a little at a time, and then stir in the chips and the Fluff. Cover and chill the dough for at least 3 hours, or overnight. It’s very important you do not skip this step. The dough needs to firm up before baking.

WTF cookies bowl

stirring in the magic ingredient

Heat your oven to 375º.

Roll golf ball-sized balls of dough and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet a few inches apart. Pay attention to this too, as these cookies spread a lot. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until the cookies have flattened and the edges are browned. Let cool completely on the baking sheet, and then enjoy.

11 Comments on “What The Fluff?! Cookies”

  1. Caroline says:

    These are awesome! So fluffyyyyy. 🙂

  2. laurasmess says:

    I’ve read a lot about marshmallow fluff, but I’m yet to sample it for myself. It looks… fluffy?! I can imagine how good these cookies must be though. They look perfectly chewy on the inside but crispy on the outside, just how I like ’em. If I can track down some fluff, I’ll be making these very soon!

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Great stuff Tommy. I have never heard of fluff (apart from the stuff that occasionally occupies my naval). Very inventive and excellent looking.

    • egg me on says:

      Haha. Yeah, that’s not the fluff I’m talking about. 😉 It’s basically just marshmallow cream. You could use mini marshmallows too, although I’m not sure that will make them as gooey and chewy.

  4. Sounds great! Gonna have to pick up some fluff and corn flakes now.

  5. Lazy Suzan says:

    These sound (and look!) delicious!

  6. Lorna says:

    Mmm, they look like Florentines (although I can’t imagine they taste much like Florentines).
    I think I might just have to get myself some marshmallow fluff tonight!

    • egg me on says:

      Oh, I can see that. But they don’t taste like them — imagine a crispy, chewy chocolate chip cookie. They’re amazing. Give ’em a try!

  7. […] these are ugly. No question about it. From the moment I saw Egg Me On’s What the Fluff?! Cookies, I knew I had to try them. My kind of cookie. It’s all about bubbly-goo, irregular shapes, […]


Leave a Reply

