Christmas Cookie Day: Hello Dollies

helloooo!

Christmas is only in six days, people! Are you ready? Do you need an easy treat to help get you through the hustle and bustle? These many-layered bars should do the trick. They go by several names, but at our house they’ve always been known as Hello Dollies. I think that’s because after your first bite, you’ll be shouting Helloooo Dollllllie! due to how good they are. I’ve changed the recipe I got from my mom just a bit, by using dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and I’ve added peanut butter chips because, well … I couldn’t resist. What’s really great about these bars is that it’s baking at its easiest: you just layer yummy ingredients into dish and bake.

Hello Dollies (aka Magic Cookie Bars)
– 1 stick margarine or butter
– 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs
– 1 cup flaked coconut
– 1 10z bag of dark chocolate chips
– 1 10z bag of peanut butter chips
– 1 cup chopped walnuts
– 1 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk
– 9×13 baking dish
– Parchment paper
– Cooking spray

Heat your oven to 350º.

Lightly coat the baking dish with cooking spray, and then line it with parchment paper. Make sure some paper hangs over the edge, as this will make it very easy to remove and cut the bars after they bake.

Melt the margarine and then pour it into the baking dish. Sprinkle the graham cracker crumbs across the entire bottom of the dish, and then add the rest of the layers: coconut, dark chocolate chips, peanut butter chips and chopped walnuts. Lastly, pour the can of sweetened condensed milk over the entire thing, and then bake for 25 minutes or until golden. Let the bars cool completely in the dish. Use the parchment paper to lift them out, cut into squares, and eat.

check out all those layers

Looking for more Christmas cookie ideas? Try a cookie with a nice chocolate-y surprise in the middle. Or a cookie that combines two holiday favorites: chocolate and liquor.


5 Comments on “Christmas Cookie Day: Hello Dollies”

  1. I know! So close. These do look truly magical.

  2. Caroline says:

    I know Christmas is right around the corner, but when you say six days, that really puts it into perspective. AH!! I should probably finish my shopping…still a bit behind on that. Wooops. These bars look great!

    • egg me on says:

      Ohh gees, I know what you mean. I’m so behind. Guess I should have gone shopping instead baking. No wait, I don’t mean that! 😀

  3. Oh man. These sounds dangerously good.


Leave a comment