Christmas Cookie Day: Cream Cheese Spritz Cookies

cream cheese spritz

trim the trees

It’s that time of year again, people! Trees are being trimmed. Jack Frost is nipping at your nose. And every Monday is Christmas Cookie Day. Last year I introduced everyone to Hershey Kiss Things, a long-time holiday tradition in my family. Well, these cream cheese cookies have had a place alongside them for as long as I can remember. They’re so creamy and tasty, it’s nearly impossible to eat just one. Plus, it’s fun to use a cookie press to stamp out little trees, wreaths, snowmen or whatever festive shapes you want.

Cream Cheese Spritz Cookies
– ½ cup (1 stick) of margarine, softened
– 4 oz of cream cheese, softened
– ⅓ cup of sugar
– 1 egg yolk
– 1 ½ teaspoon of orange extract
– 1 ½ cups of flour
– ½ teaspoon of salt
– Food coloring and festive sprinkles (optional)

Heat your oven to 400º.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the margarine, cream cheese, sugar, egg yolk and orange extract together. Add the flour and salt and beat until well combined. Add a few teaspoons of green food coloring and mix.

Place the dough into a cookie press, pick a festive stencil like a Christmas tree or wreath, and press the cookies onto an ungreased baking sheet. Add sprinkles. Bake for 7 to 10 minutes. Keep a close eye on the cookies while they bake – the bottoms can brown (and burn) quite quickly. Let cool and then eat.

cream cheese spritz

deck the halls

Check back every Monday this month for more great Christmas cookie recipes!


10 Comments on “Christmas Cookie Day: Cream Cheese Spritz Cookies”

  1. NerdyBaker says:

    I am a sucker for spritz! I love them. One of the last Christmas gifts my mother gave me was a cookie press. I ended up inheriting hers though when she passed which is hand cranked and I like much better. I HATE rolled out sugar cookies. Spritz make them easier and way cuter!

    • eve smith says:

      I agree wholeheartedly about the hand crank type of cookie press! i gave mine away years ago when I bought the cookie shooter, which wasn”t all I had hoped it would be. Then I bought Pampered Chefs cookie gun which was a total waste of money as that stupid contraption never did work right. I have searched the town for a manual, metal barrel not plastic crank type cookie press and cannot find one… You are not alone in your love of spritz cookies as I make several different kinds.

      • egg me on says:

        Thanks Eve! My mom still uses her original metal cookie press and gave me her plastic battery-powered one, which actually worked really well.


Leave a comment