Ooey-Gooey-Chewy Cookies

Chocolate Brownie Cookie

score some brownie points

Life can be hard sometimes, amirite? It’s all about choices. And decisions. And compromises. What to wear. What to watch. What to eat. Like, do you go for a cookie or a brownie?

Well, why should you have to choose?

Why not get both?

Boom.

Yep. A cookie. A brownie. You can have it all. And actually, not to blow your mind again, but you can have it all — and less. That’s right. Because these ooey-gooey chocolatey cookies are flourless. Which is hard to believe, I know. But it’s true. Just check out the recipe. But what’s really great is that they’re so chock full of rich, chocolate flavor, you won’t miss the flour one bit.

See, life’s not so hard all the time.

Chocolate Brownie Cookies
3 cups of powdered sugar
3/4 cups of unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon of salt
2 large egg whites
1 large egg
5 oz of bittersweet chocolate, chopped

Heat your oven to 350º. Make sure your rack is in the upper third of your oven.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar, cocoa powder and salt. Next, whisk in the egg whites and egg until it resembles a thick fudgy mixture. Then fold in the bittersweet chocolate.

Drop rounded tablespoons of batter onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake for 14 to 16 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through, until cookies are puffed, cracked and set around the edges. Let them cool completely on the cookie sheet. Then eat.


11 Comments on “Ooey-Gooey-Chewy Cookies”

  1. I think these might actually be genius. I must make them. Is powdered sugar what we would call icing sugar, do you think?

    • egg me on says:

      Thanks Claire! But I can’t take credit for inventing this amazing recipe, just making it. (That belongs to the geniuses at Bon Appetit magazine.) But yes, I think powdered sugar is what we Americans call icing sugar. It’s softer and fluffier. 🙂

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    Tommy, here’s the deal. I’ll cook the main course. You bring a big box of these and we will all be very happy. They look delicious.

  3. laurasmess says:

    These look amazing Tom! Love that crackly top. Divine. I definitely need to make some of these asap!

  4. Bookmarked! I love flourless cookies and I’m going to make me tomorrow because I have all the ingredients in the cupboard! I’m happy now! 🙂

  5. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Oh my these cookies look delicious!


Leave a comment